![]() |
Good gosh! I kicked it
Within 2 weeks of the question being posted on here and answered correctly, I kicked it.
I was Trail (3 person). Inexperienced Lead is administering a front court throw in. Ball is released and in the air, when I hear a whistle from Lead. Whaddayagot? A 5 second violation. So I went and asked him was the ball not released in 5 secinds? He said yes it was, but it wasn't touched by anyone in 5 seconds. I said the ball only has to be released within 5 seconds. So we called it an inadvertant whistle. Then I, using impeccable logic, said since no team had control, we go to the arrow. Nobody complained. Ten seconds later I said to my self...you dumba**...we devoted 3 pages, I think, to this issue. Should have just let team A inbound the ball again .:eek: Thank goodness for scrimmages |
Quote:
|
LOL is right.. or can you laugh about it yet? hee hee. I guess your partner(s) skipped training camp?? It will be a good learning experience for your partners too; everyone learns something. As mentioned, that is what scrimmages are for... to get you back in game mode mentally & physically. Nice of you to share. :)
|
I'm curious. What made you check on your partner here?
|
The span of time between the release of the ball and the whistle. I knew just from your "internal clock" that it was getting close to 5 seconds, and the ball was in the air, almost from the endline to near mid court, when the whistle sounded. His whistle didn't sound until the ball was well on it's way, and he never made a clear signal what he had. Thats why i asked him what he had.
He learned something, and I was reminded of something. |
Makes sense to me. Good catch.
|
Hopefully, both of you will never make either of those mistakes again. :) I don't mind mistakes. I just have a problem with not learning from them and repeating them.
|
Once again, I don't have my rule books with me. Can someone clarify on the OP?
Is the rule on IW during no team control POI? Is that a new rule? Thanks. |
Quote:
RULE 4, SECTION 36 POINT OF INTERRUPTION ART. 1 . . . Method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10. ART. 2 …Play shall be resumed by one of the following: a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred. b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved. |
No this is not a new rule.
|
The NFHS POI rule was adopted in the 2005-06 season, and if Idaho wasn't officiating for a couple of years, it is new to him. :)
|
Quote:
But, here's another test/study guide question: While A1's pass is in the air to A2, B1 deflects the pass. Official inadvertently sounds the whistle and grants a time out requested by team A's coach. Official rules the time-ou cannot be denied or revoked and after the time-out has expired, uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play. Ruling: Correct procedure According to what is written above, this is not the correct procedure. Team A still has team control, so we must give the ball back to team A, even if a B player was inches away from gaining possession? Doesn't seem remotely fair to me. Or is this one of those "in control" does not mean "team control" things that we have argued about before? |
Quote:
Give the ball back to A. |
Quote:
in this situation as well as others. If B1 was about to scoop up the ball and score, the fact that A had "team control" should not enter the equation. |
Quote:
2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 12: A1 is passing the ball to A2 in the frontcourt. The pass is deflected by B1 and is in the air when the official erroneously blows the whistle and grants a time-out request by (a) Team A's head coach, or (b) Team B's head coach. RULING: In (a) and (b), even though there was no player control and the ball was not dead, the time-out is entitled to be used since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to the appropriate team. The stoppage should be treated as an accidental whistle by the official and play shall resume at the point of interruption. Team A, which was in team control, is entitled to a throw-in at a spot nearest to where the ball was located (last in contact with a player or the court) when the stoppage occurred. (4-36-1, 2a; 5-8-3; 7-4-4) |
So an alert coach who sees his team may lose possession on a fast break in this sitch may call a timeout to try and get it granted??
Good move if it works. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If a foul ocuured while ball was in the air, you would not have a team control foul but a common foul and if in bonus it would be 1+1... So If there is no team control, why by rule would you put this in play with POI? BecauseSection b clearly states however that play resumes by a throw-in if stoppage occurred during this activity.... Lets look at the technical absuridity of this rule... Original play ball is not touched we have IW and we give the ball back to Team A because the IW occurred during the throw-in.. Modify the play... Team B barely brushes the ball ball on the throw-in as it is being passed in bounds from A1 to A2. Throw-in is now over. There is no team control, there is no throw-in, now by rule we have to go to the arrow. This is where I think the rules need to change. My editorial comment.... I think it is stupid that player A is standing out of bounds holding the ball and we say that the team is not in control because we worry about writing some sort of exception in the book so that we dont have BC or a three second call, or some other infaction tied to team control on a throw-in. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am. |