The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Situation 10 still bothers me. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39068-situation-10-still-bothers-me.html)

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 24, 2007 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
You guys crack me up :) .... from the famous words of Animal House... I wasted 7 years of college for this...

In college, I stayed in the residence which was home to all the events that led to the creation of Animal House.

We lived up to history and did some crazy stuff. Including p* raids. :p

Splute Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:27am

Thanks mbyron and wish I had been with ya Juggling....

Camron Rust Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
I appreciate your patience with me and these are strickly my views based on the reading.
We all (?) agree that if B1 deflects the ball into the backcourt and the ball touches the backcourt, Team A may recover no violation.

Agree
Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
We all (?) agree that if B1 deflects a pass and a Team A player with frontcourt status catches the ball in the air and lands in their backcourt; it is a backcourt violation.

Agree...and the reason is A was the last to touch the ball BEFORE it gained backcourt status (catching it in the air while having FC stats) and was then the first to touch it AFTER gaining backcourt status (by landing in the backcourt while holding the ball)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
Therefore in my mind the same is true if Team A catches (in the air, ball has not touched bc) a deflection that has frontcourt status, while standing in their backcourt gives the ball backcourt status and a team backcourt violation.

But WHO was the LAST to touch it BEFORE it gained backcourt status? (Remember that a player can't can't possibly touch the ball before he touches the ball.)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
It bites, but it seems fundamentally the same to me.
I will start over and re-read this post from the beginning to see if I have a brain block or just bain dramage :)

The RULE, as written, is all about the timing of who touches the ball before/after the ball gains backcourt status. It is not about the status of the ball before/after it gains backcourt status.

Splute Wed Oct 24, 2007 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
AgreeAgree...and the reason is A was the last to touch the ball BEFORE it gained backcourt status (catching it in the air while having FC stats) and was then the first to touch it AFTER gaining backcourt status (by landing in the backcourt while holding the ball)But WHO was the LAST to touch it BEFORE it gained backcourt status? (Remember that a player can't can't possibly touch the ball before he touches the ball.)


The RULE, as written, is all about the timing of who touches the ball before/after the ball gains backcourt status. It is not about the status of the ball before/after it gains backcourt status.

I see your point and Bob's and Juulie's.... if the ONLY way you can have a BC Violation is by Rule 9-9-1, I must concede. I let Sits. sway my thinking that Ball Status could be a factor, regardless of who touched last in FC.
Thanks...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1