The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   foul shots or OB? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38875-foul-shots-ob.html)

fmkjrunc Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:24pm

foul shots or OB?
 
team A has the ball in their offensive end, team A PG passes into high post, team B player cuts in front to steal ball and is fouled, this is team A 7th team foul, is team B shooting 1 & 1 or is the ball OB, thanks for your help.

JRutledge Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:35pm

Team B shoots the bonus with the player that was fouled on the line.

Peace

Nevadaref Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmkjrunc
team A has the ball in their offensive end, team A PG passes into high post, team B player cuts in front to steal ball and is fouled, this is team A 7th team foul, is team B shooting 1 & 1 or is the ball OB, thanks for your help.

Did the Team B player intercept the ball prior to the foul or was he only cutting in front of the opponent and trying to reach the ball when he was fouled?

If he caught the ball and then was fouled, he shoots the 1&1.

If he was fouled before establishing control, then it is a team control foul by Team A and the ball is awarded OOB to Team B.

fmkjrunc Tue Oct 16, 2007 05:50am

thanks for the quick responses, when the pass was thrown, the player on team B was in front of the player on team A, team A player tried to jump over the back to get the ball, contact occured at the same time of catching of pass

truerookie Tue Oct 16, 2007 07:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmkjrunc
thanks for the quick responses, when the pass was thrown, the player on team B was in front of the player on team A, team A player tried to jump over the back to get the ball, contact occured at the same time of catching of pass

Judgemet call on this one. However, if it happen simultaneously I would shoot the bonus.

bob jenkins Tue Oct 16, 2007 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmkjrunc
thanks for the quick responses, when the pass was thrown, the player on team B was in front of the player on team A, team A player tried to jump over the back to get the ball, contact occured at the same time of catching of pass

Can't happen "at the same time." The official must decide which occurred first, and administer accordingly.

Splute Tue Oct 16, 2007 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmkjrunc
team A has the ball in their offensive end, team A PG passes into high post, team B player cuts in front to steal ball and is fouled, this is team A 7th team foul, is team B shooting 1 & 1 or is the ball OB, thanks for your help.

One & One starts WITH and includes the seventh foul, if it is not a player or team control foul as mentioned previous. You will have 1 & 1 for 7, 8, 9 team fouls and starting with the 10th team foul you will shoot double bonus.

M&M Guy Tue Oct 16, 2007 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Can't happen "at the same time."

I thought the tie always goes to the runner?

Anyway, if B was fouled while A was still in team control (while the pass was still in the air, for example), there are no FT's, and the ball is awarded to B for a throw-in at the spot closest to the foul. If B had intercepted the pass, team A is no longer in team control, so B will shoot the 1-and-1. But as Bob said, you do have to make the decision as to which happened first - the foul, then catch, or catch, then foul. That's why we get paid the big bucks.

Mark Padgett Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
That's why we get paid the big bucks.

http://www.salernobrothers.com/images/barn.jpg

Frankly, I'd rather have cash. :D

M&M Guy Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
http://www.salernobrothers.com/images/barn.jpg

Frankly, I'd rather have cash. :D

You've obviously not had any good deer sausage recently. It's just as good as cash.

TimTaylor Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
You've obviously not had any good deer sausage recently. It's just as good as cash.

Nah, venison by itself is a little too lean for sausage, but if you mix it 50/50 with bear, the sausage you get is really tasty!

Mark Padgett Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
You've obviously not had any good deer sausage recently. It's just as good as cash.

But you can't insert it in a lottery ticket machine! :(

M&M Guy Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
But you can't insert it in a lottery ticket machine! :(

You don't need a machine; just hand it to the guy behind the counter before he gives you the ticket.

Geeze. :rolleyes:

Adam Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor
Nah, venison by itself is a little too lean for sausage, but if you mix it 50/50 with bear, the sausage you get is really tasty!

I've found a bit of dolphin really adds to the flavor.

bigdog5142 Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:48am

I just want to make sure I have the "team control" thing right. Any foul by an offensive player (bad pick) is no longer considered a bonus situation...OB for defense as long as the offensive team has "team control". Player control fouls remain OB only. Only when there is no "team control" is there a bonus situation, correct? (I'm getting back into officiating. I haven't officiated "officially" since 1998. Back then, ONLY a player control foul resulted in OB. Every other foul was considered a bonus situaiton.)

Adam Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:19pm

You are correct. team control is essentially an extension of the player control rules to cover all players on the team with the ball.
Two keys.
1. There is no team control during a throwin or a shot (airborne shooter is the only exception).
2. Team control continues, once established, until the ball is dead, the shot is released, or the other team establishes team control. This is important to remember during loose balls.

Mark Dexter Tue Oct 16, 2007 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I thought the tie always goes to the runner?

Nope. Check your baseball rulebook.

KSRef07 Wed Oct 17, 2007 01:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Did the Team B player intercept the ball prior to the foul or was he only cutting in front of the opponent and trying to reach the ball when he was fouled?

If he caught the ball and then was fouled, he shoots the 1&1.

If he was fouled before establishing control, then it is a team control foul by Team A and the ball is awarded OOB to Team B.

Agree. No doubt. Correct.

BillyMac Wed Oct 17, 2007 06:24pm

Tie To Runner ?????
 
From M&M Guy: "I thought the tie always goes to the runner?"

From Mark Dexter: "Nope. Check your baseball rulebook."

Mark Dexter is correct:

THE TIE RULE MYTH

There is no such thing in the world of umpiring. The runner is either out or safe. The umpire must judge out or safe. It is impossible to judge a tie. Lets look at the rules (OBR) 6.05 deals with a batter becoming a runner and 7.08 deals with a runner going to 2nd, 3rd, or Home.

6.05 A batter is out when (j) After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base.
Here, as it relates to time, the rule states the runner must be tagged before he touches first base. So if they were to happen at the same time, the runner would be safe because the runner was not tagged “before”.

7.08 Any runner is out when (e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. Here it states that the runner must reach the base before the ball, thus a perception of time being a tie, the runner would be out.

So in conculsion, tie goes to runner at first and tie goes to fielders at the other bases.

mbyron Wed Oct 17, 2007 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
So in conculsion, tie goes to runner at first and tie goes to fielders at the other bases.

That's incorrect. Professional instruction is that, on any force play and any play on the batter-runner at 1B, the runner must beat the ball to the base. If he doesn't, he's out. There are no ties, and 1B is no different.

JRutledge Thu Oct 18, 2007 01:16am

Tie goes to the umpire. A runner must beat a throw. If they do not beat a throw, they are out plain and simple.

Peace

Adam Thu Oct 18, 2007 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
From M&M Guy: "I thought the tie always goes to the runner?"

From Mark Dexter: "Nope. Check your baseball rulebook."

Mark Dexter is correct:

I'm pretty sure M&M knew this, and he was referencing an old thread.

M&M Guy Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I'm pretty sure M&M knew this, and he was referencing an old thread.

Thank you.

When it comes to baseball, for the most part I'm in BIFS: Blissfully Ignorant Fanboy Status. But I do know this - the rule about the tie going to the runner is the exactly the same as the rule about a referee preventing overtimes: it pushes some peoples' buttons. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1