The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   correctable error-did I blow it? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3882-correctable-error-did-i-blow.html)

Matt S. Fri Jan 25, 2002 10:38pm

Here's the sitch (NFHS rules)-

Coming out of a timeout with 1:33 to play, A1 shoots the front end of a 1 and 1 (should've been 2 shots-it was 10th team foul).

Off of miss, B secures rebound, 10 seconds elapse, and scorers then buzz me to tell me we forgot the second free throw.

We went back, gave A1 his 2nd shot, then gave B the ball where we blew it dead.

So here's the question-do we put the 10 seconds back on the clock? And, should the lane be cleared for the FT, or do we resume play off the FT?

PAULK1 Fri Jan 25, 2002 10:55pm

You did it correctly

stop play, shoot the FT with the lane cleared, resume play from point of interuption. consumed time and any additional activity shall not be nullified. SEE (NF) 2-10-1a and 2-10-5

daves Sat Jan 26, 2002 12:09am

Sounds right to me.

Slider Sat Jan 26, 2002 01:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by Matt S.
Here's the sitch (NFHS rules)-We went back, gave A1 his 2nd shot, then gave B the ball where we blew it dead. And, should the lane be cleared for the FT, or do we resume play off the FT?
Correctable errors suck :)

There was no change of team possesion AFTER the error (there is no team control during FT).

So shoot the second with players in the lane, and play on from there. Otherwise, you would be penalizing A when you don't allow them a chance to rebound the second FT should it miss.

ChuckElias Sat Jan 26, 2002 10:12am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Slider
Quote:

Correctable errors suck :)
That is clearly and irrefutably true! :)

Quote:

There was no change of team possesion AFTER the error (there is no team control during FT).
I think that is just as clearly false. One way to know if there is team control is to determine whether there is player control. Player control is defined as any player holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. The ball becomes live when the FT shooter receives it for his shot(s). The FT shooter is holding the ball inbounds, the ball is live, therefore he has player control. Therefore there is team control, until he releases the try.

So unless you were being very specific in your use of the word "during" (meaning, "while the ball is in flight"), I think that you're wrong about that.

Chuck

Mark Dexter Sat Jan 26, 2002 10:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by PAULK1
You did it correctly

stop play, shoot the FT with the lane cleared, resume play from point of interuption. consumed time and any additional activity shall not be nullified. SEE (NF) 2-10-1a and 2-10-5

No. You also need to look at 2-10-6. If the error involves awarding a merited free throw, and there has been no change of possession since the error was made, you go with a normal FT attempt.

I see the play as this:
A1 misses first shot
B1 grabs rebound, play continues - this is where the error was made.
B1 dribbles upcourt.
Horn.

There was no change in possession between the error and the recognition in this case.

Slider Sat Jan 26, 2002 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
...Therefore there is team control, until he releases the try.
Very true, there was team control while the shooter held the ball. After he shoots, there is no control while the ball is in flight.

The error occurs AFTER he shoots; he should have received another throw AFTER the first throw.

Therefore, there was no change of possession after he shot, so give him the last FT normally with players on the lane.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1