![]() |
Quote:
9-9-2 ... While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt. 4.4.4 SITUATION: The official is in Team A's frontcourt when he/she is contacted by a pass thrown by A1 from Team A's backcourt. After touching the official, the ball: (a) goes out of bounds; or (b) rebounds to the backcourt where it is recovered by A2. RULING: Touching the official is the same as touching the floor where the official is standing. In (a), the ball is awarded to B for a throw-in. In (b), the ball has been in the frontcourt and then has gone to the backcourt while in Team A's control. It is a violation for A1 to cause the ball to go from A's backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt untouched if A1 or a teammate is first to touch it after it has returned to backcourt. (9-9-2) Now can you find anything for my other scenario which tests the words "in the backcourt" in 9-9-1? |
WOW...great discussion...didn't know my little question would get so much play! Glad that we can discuss this stuff and get some GOOD answers! :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
<i>"The basketball case book has been designated as an official supplement to the rule book by the NFHS"</i> It also states <i>"The interpretations and rulings for all play situations have been approved by the rules committee and are official."</i> So, case book plays are basically just further official explanations of written rules. All case book plays are official rules, no matter what Nevada says, thinks, personally likes, etc. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49am. |