The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did you know that? (NF rules) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3766-did-you-know-nf-rules.html)

Mark Dexter Wed Jan 16, 2002 10:17pm

(1) It's not a T to grasp the basket before the game, because the game hasn't started. (Had 3 T's in a row for this one.)

(2) If the ball in A's frontcourt tips off of B1 then A1, then A2 touches it in the backcourt, it's not a violation because B1 tapped the ball.

(3) The 2 required defenders on a FT can stand on any or all of the block.

I told a kid to get off the block, and he said "college rules."

My response - I know the college rule, we play high school rules here.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 16, 2002 10:22pm

I am getting guilable in my old age Mark. If you had not added Play (3) I would have believed that you were serious.

Mark Dexter Wed Jan 16, 2002 10:31pm

Yow, Mark! I know we don't always agree with your interpretations :D, but you are usually pretty good with the rules.

Here's the requisite smiley for both of my posts :)!!

BktBallRef Wed Jan 16, 2002 10:33pm

A fan at last night's game informed me that it's illegal to dribble the ball above your shoulder. :confused:

Mark Dexter Wed Jan 16, 2002 11:26pm

NCAA game on Sunday - 2.3 seconds, visitors down by 3, about to inbound the ball, trying to force an overtime.

V takes a full timeout, and before play starts, requests a 30. One lady in the stands was NOT happy with this!!

BTW, H then took a 30-second timeout. No complaints about THREE in a row!

Mark Dexter Thu Jan 17, 2002 09:24am

Also from last night:

(4) A shorter player cannot foul a taller player.

I'm lead, A1 is almost right under the basket. B1 does a variation of "over the back" (sticks his hands out straight in front of himself) - A1 takes the shot, misses, I call the block on B1.

B1 - "That's unbelievable! I'm 5'9", and he's 6'3"!!"

Hawks Coach Thu Jan 17, 2002 11:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
A fan at last night's game informed me that it's illegal to dribble the ball above your shoulder. :confused:
Was that before they asked for an over the back call and after they counted to three, or do I have them reversed?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1