The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   ruling on an inbounds pass??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/376-ruling-inbounds-pass.html)

jasonboom Wed Feb 02, 2000 06:19pm

This is something ive never seen before and never thought of until i saw it. A team is inbounding the ball against a press. The inbounder throws a length of the court inbounds pass that actually goes in the basket, somebody from his own team grabs it out of the net and puts it in again. Should this count? What is the proper ruling?

POShea Wed Feb 02, 2000 11:23pm

Throw-in violation when the ball goes directly into the basket during the throw-in, ball is dead and an administered throw-in Team B (the original defending team) The basket by Team B is cancelled and they get the ball.
Take Care -
Pat

Tom Cook Thu Feb 03, 2000 05:23pm

I agree that the ball going through the basket on a throw-in is a violation, but where is the throw-in spot for Team B. I think it's back at the Team A spot, the same as if the ball went directly out of bounds.

Pirate Thu Feb 03, 2000 09:42pm

JBoom:

It is a violation as stated by the previous posts. What is your call however if the ball lodges between the backboard and the goal during the throw in???? If you said it's a violation, you're correct.

PDLeBoutillier Fri Feb 04, 2000 01:00am

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tom Cook on 02-03-2000 04:23 PM
I agree that the ball going through the basket on a throw-in is a violation, but where is the throw-in spot for Team B. I think it's back at the Team A spot, the same as if the ball went directly out of bounds.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The violation is on the thrower, so the other team gets the ball at the same spot as the first throw-in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1