The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   technicals (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3745-technicals.html)

Brian Watson Thu Jan 17, 2002 08:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Brian Watson
If they then get invovled it is a direct, not an indirect, to the coach for each instance of participation.

That's wrong, Brian. A coach does not get an direct T if a sub comes off the bench and fights. A coach can only get a direct technical foul for an offense that he commits. h can never get a direct T for something a sub or other bench personnel does.

I am actually checking on this. I do not specifically remember that being in the book, but it was covered by our rules interpreter last season. He was clear that if you come off the bench and get invovled, you issue a direct to the coach. I'll let you know when I hear, maybe he was mistaken, or that is how we are supposed to handle it.

Mark Dexter Thu Jan 17, 2002 09:18am

Take a look at 4-19-5(d).

A direct technical, which is a technical foul charged to the head coach only because of his/her actions.

Also see the Technical-Foul Penalty Summary in the back of the book.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 17, 2002 11:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Take a look at 4-19-5(d).

A direct technical, which is a technical foul charged to the head coach only because of his/her actions.

Also see the Technical-Foul Penalty Summary in the back of the book.

Brian --

Also look at 10.4.4A(b), "each head coach is charged indirectly with two technical fouls..."

I'm afraid you either heard or were told incorrectly.

Brian Watson Thu Jan 17, 2002 11:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Take a look at 4-19-5(d).

A direct technical, which is a technical foul charged to the head coach only because of his/her actions.

Also see the Technical-Foul Penalty Summary in the back of the book.

Brian --

Also look at 10.4.4A(b), "each head coach is charged indirectly with two technical fouls..."

I'm afraid you either heard or were told incorrectly.

If memory serves they said it was misprint by the fed.

BktBallRef Thu Jan 17, 2002 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Brian Watson
If memory serves they said it was misprint by the fed.
No, it's not a misprint. Look back in your case books for the last few years. It's an indirect in each and every one.

Brian Watson Fri Jan 18, 2002 09:03am

I know the rule and case books have listed "indirect" for a while, he told us it was a misprint (I asked around and some other guys remember the meeting).

So maybe this is a "When in Rome" kind of thing.

Haven't heard back yet.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1