The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What I hope is the last freaking AP throw-in quiz (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/36665-what-i-hope-last-freaking-ap-throw-quiz.html)

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:35am

What I hope is the last freaking AP throw-in quiz
 
A1 to inbound on an AP throw-in. During the throw-in, the ball is simultaneously kicked by A2 and B1. Does team A retain the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? :confused:

Splute Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:41am

Wow that would be interesting to see. I would have a double violation (if there is such a thing) which again would be AP throw in (in my mindk ie: held ball). The first AP didnt complete, therefore, A1 to inbound on same AP throw-in. Thats my final answer. :)

Splute Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:50am

aaahhh, I just caught up on your series of AP questions... very good.

bob jenkins Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
A1 to inbound on an AP throw-in. During the throw-in, the ball is simultaneously kicked by A2 and B1. Does team A retain the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? :confused:

Oh yeah?

How about this:

On an AP throw-in, A1 throws the ball over the basket.

While the ball is in the cylinder, A1 and B1 simultaneously commit BI.

Or, B1 commits BI.

Or, B1 commits BI at the same time as A1 kicks the ball.

Ruling..? ;)

Splute Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:04am

Oh my, so this is what off season drives you to.... Mark did you find those meds?

FrankHtown Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:43am

On a double violation you go to the AP arrow, which by now is spinning like a weather vane in a tornado:D

Old School Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
A1 to inbound on an AP throw-in. During the throw-in, the ball is simultaneously kicked by A2 and B1. Does team A retain the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? :confused:

Mark, the whistle would be jump ball. There's no such thing as a double kick violation, or I should say I don't think there is such a thing. I'm sure Mr. Rulebook will correct me if I'm wrong. In NCAA Women's, maybe we can say the offensive kick ball, or vice-versa came first and go that route. Interesting.... If I had two players do this, I would eject both of them for flagrant fouls attempting to kick each other. :D

Have a nice day

dkmz17 Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Or, B1 commits BI at the same time as A1 kicks the ball.

A1 kicks the ball at the same time that B1 commits Basket interference!?!

Is A1 Pele?

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
In NCAA Women's, maybe we can say the offensive kick ball, or vice-versa came first and go that route.

Why only in NCAA Women's? Couldn't you make the same ruling at any level? I've had situations where, at first, it appeared players from opposite teams hit the ball OOB simultaneously, but upon further reflection, I "realized" one hit it just a split mini-micro-second before the other one.

Adam Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Or, B1 commits BI at the same time as A1 kicks the ball.

I've got a false double violation with agravating circumstances, making it a second degree violation.
B1 commits BI, violation.
A1 kicks the ball at the same time, meaning she is also goal tending. Normally, with the double violation, we'd go POI with just some simple fines for both. However, with the agravating circumstances, this becomes a second degree violation on A1 while only a third degree violation on B1.

I'm giving the ball to A1.

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I've got a false double violation with agravating circumstances, making it a second degree violation.
B1 commits BI, violation.
A1 kicks the ball at the same time, meaning she is also goal tending. Normally, with the double violation, we'd go POI with just some simple fines for both. However, with the agravating circumstances, this becomes a second degree violation on A1 while only a third degree violation on B1.

I'm giving the ball to A1.

Isn't the correct call a simultaneous illegal chop block and balk? In that case, you give the ball to the player whose number is a perfect square but not divisible by pi.

Meds, meds, my kingdom for some meds. :o

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Jul 17, 2007 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
A1 to inbound on an AP throw-in. During the throw-in, the ball is simultaneously kicked by A2 and B1. Does team A retain the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? :confused:


Mark:

You are one sick puppy. :D

MTD, Sr.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Jul 17, 2007 02:24pm

I'll go with Snaq's second degree false double violation; and depending on which half of the court and on which island it happened on in Alaska, we may not whistle it until tomorrow.

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Mark:

You are one sick puppy. :D

MTD, Sr.

Arf! Puke!

Yup, I am. :p

bob jenkins Tue Jul 17, 2007 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dkmz17
A1 kicks the ball at the same time that B1 commits Basket interference!?!

Is A1 Pele?

If A1 were Pele, that would change the answer, because we need to protect the famous players.

Maybe A1 has a prosthesis that became detached. OF course, in this instance, A1 couldn't complain about the call because s/he doesn't have a leg to stand on. (Sorry, I had to say that so Mark wouldn't)

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Maybe A1 has a prosthesis that became detached. OF course, in this instance, A1 couldn't complain about the call because s/he doesn't have a leg to stand on. (Sorry, I had to say that so Mark wouldn't)

I can see it coming now - an endless thread about lack of a pivot foot following a jump hop. :p

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 17, 2007 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I can see it coming now - an endless thread about lack of a pivot foot following a jump hop. :p

Jump hops are legal. If you pick up your pivot foot, you can now legally jump hop on the other foot from one end of the court to the other.

It's true, it's true.....

Dan_ref Tue Jul 17, 2007 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
If A1 were Pele, that would change the answer, because we need to protect the famous players.

Maybe A1 has a prosthesis that became detached. OF course, in this instance, A1 couldn't complain about the call because s/he doesn't have a leg to stand on. (Sorry, I had to say that so Mark wouldn't)

Well, no, s/he would have A leg to stand on. But not much else.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 17, 2007 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Well, no, s/he would have A leg to stand on. But not much else.

Disagree.

Ever heard of Ron Jeremy?

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Disagree.

Ever heard of Ron Jeremy?

Wasn't he in that movie with Diebler? I think it was called "Who's Yours". :D

Nevadaref Tue Jul 17, 2007 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
A1 to inbound on an AP throw-in. During the throw-in, the ball is simultaneously kicked by A2 and B1. Does team A retain the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? :confused:

Amazingly, this situation is not covered by the NFHS Rules Book! Check for yourself and you will see that a simultaneous kicking violation is NOT one of the items listed that necessitates an AP throw-in.

6-4-3 . . . Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:
a. A held ball occurs.
b. The ball goes out of bounds, as in 7-3.
c. A simultaneous free-throw violation occurs.
d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.
e. The ball becomes dead when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction nor end of a quarter/extra period is involved.
f. Opponents commit simultaneous goaltending or basket-interference violations.
g. Double personal, double technical or simultaneous fouls occur and the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved.

Therefore, this situation must fall under 2-3.
If I were the referee and had to make a decision I would extrapolate from 9-4, 6-4-3, 6-4-5, Penalty #4 from 9-11+12, and 6.4.5 SitA.
My ruling is that the simultaneous kicking violation results in an AP throw-in, and that Team B is entitled to make this new AP throw-in as Team A lost the arrow by committing a violation during the prior throw-in. Even though this violation was part of a simultaneous violation, Team A still committed a violation. Thus Team A loses their turn at the arrow.

Back In The Saddle Tue Jul 17, 2007 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Amazingly, this situation is not covered by the NFHS Rules Book! Check for yourself and you will see that a simultaneous kicking violation is NOT one of the items listed that necessitates an AP throw-in.

Where's ChuckElias when you need him? We need to get this situation added ASAP!

Nevadaref Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Where's ChuckElias when you need him? We need to get this situation added ASAP!

Yeah, where is he? :D

http://fark.pbwiki.com/f/Squirrel-Original.jpg

Mark Dexter Wed Jul 18, 2007 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Maybe A1 has a prosthesis that became detached.

3 bases from the time of pitch?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1