The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/36660-ball-out-bounds.html)

filinuk Tue Jul 17, 2007 07:37am

Ball out of bounds
 
Is the ball out of play when it goes over the backboard? I believe it is out of play if it hits the back of the back board.

Is there a section in the federation rule book where this is addressed?

Thanks.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 17, 2007 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by filinuk
Is the ball out of play when it goes over the backboard? I believe it is out of play if it hits the back of the back board.

Is there a section in the federation rule book where this is addressed?

Thanks.

The ball is out-of-bounds if it completely passes over a rectangular backboard or if it touches the supports or back of any backboard.

NFHS rule 7-1-2.

filinuk Tue Jul 17, 2007 07:44am

thanks
 
I made this call last night but my partner said that since it did not hit a wire or support that the ball was still in play.

bob jenkins Tue Jul 17, 2007 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by filinuk
I made this call last night but my partner said that since it did not hit a wire or support that the ball was still in play.

Assuming it was a rectanfular backboard, you were correct.

If it was a fan-shaped backboard, your partner was correct.

filinuk Tue Jul 17, 2007 07:55am

rectangular
 
although it is only a JV summer league game - the call determined the outcome of the game. oh well.

bob jenkins Tue Jul 17, 2007 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by filinuk
although it is only a JV summer league game - the call determined the outcome of the game. oh well.

No it didn't.

Adam Tue Jul 17, 2007 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by filinuk
although it is only a JV summer league game - the call determined the outcome of the game. oh well.

First of all, you got the call right.
Secondly, even if you didn't, don't fall into that crap trap.

Ch1town Tue Jul 17, 2007 09:32am

Originally Posted by filinuk
although it is only a JV summer league game - the call determined the outcome of the game. oh well.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
No it didn't.

I'm sure the missed FTs/layups, a few turnovers, along with some poor coaching played a larger part in determining the outcome of the game than the 1 call did.




FYI: The NOTE following Rule 7-1-2 is the most important clarification for this situation.

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Assuming it was a rectanfular backboard, you were correct.

If it was a fan-shaped backboard, your partner was correct.

You use the same logic if the ball goes OOB and goes over a cheerleader. It matters whether she is rectangular or fan-shaped. :D

BillyMac Tue Jul 17, 2007 06:21pm

Backboard
 
The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 17, 2007 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.

The same goes for the cheerleaders. ;)

Zoochy Wed Jul 18, 2007 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
You use the same logic if the ball goes OOB and goes over a cheerleader. It matters whether she is rectangular or fan-shaped. :D

:D So, with this logic .... the Top, Sides and Front of the Cheerleaders are in play. The back side. Out of Play.:eek:

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 18, 2007 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
So, with this logic .... the Top, Sides and Front of the Cheerleaders are in play. The back side. Out of Play.

Their supporting structures are out of play too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1