The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/36234-most-misunderstood-basketball-rules.html)

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2007 08:42pm

Moving Screen
 
13) A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

Thanks again rainmaker.

lrpalmer3 Mon Jul 09, 2007 08:56pm

The Golden Rule states:

"Do unto others as you would have them do unto you."

Not:

"Do unto others as they do unto you."

This rule is one of the most misunderstood.

Mark Padgett Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lrpalmer3
The Golden Rule states:

"Do unto others as you would have them do unto you."

Not:

"Do unto others as they do unto you."

This rule is one of the most misunderstood.

In my old neighborhood on the South Side of Chicago, it was "Do unto others before they had a chance to do unto you." :eek:

rainmaker Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
In my old neighborhood on the South Side of Chicago, it was "Do unto others before they had a chance to do unto you." :eek:

My dad said it like this: "Do one to others before they do one to you!"

rainmaker Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
13) A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

Thanks again rainmaker.

Billy, this is good. I think it helps to start off with fan-speak, and it gets the attention of the reader. I like it.

bigdogrunnin Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:48pm

7) The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues.

Question . . .

My understanding of the rule ("highlighted above") is that if the defender and the offensive player are BOTH still in contact with the ball we would have a jump ball; however, if the defender is no longer in contact with the ball and the offensive player comes back to the floor still holding the ball, then we would have a traveling violation on the offensive player. What is the correct interpretation?? Thanks.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jul 14, 2007 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
7) The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues.

Question . . .

My understanding of the rule ("highlighted above") is that if the defender and the offensive player are BOTH still in contact with the ball we would have a jump ball; however, <font color = blue>if the defender is no longer in contact with the ball and the offensive player comes back to the floor still holding the ball, then we would have a traveling violation on the offensive player.</font> What is the correct interpretation?? Thanks.

Your statement is not necessarily correct. You can have either a travel <b>or</b> a held ball....or...you can also have a player legally return to the floor with the ball without a defender still contacting the ball.

- if the defender touches the ball <b>in</b> the airborne shooter's hands and the shooter now lands on the court---> traveling <b>only</b> if the touch didn't affect the release of the ball <b>or</b> held ball if the touch did affect the release of the ball. Both are judgment calls.
- if a defender touches the ball after the shot has left the shooter's hands, and the shooter now recovers the ball in the air, the shooter can legally land..and dribble, shoot, pass, etc.
- if the defender knocks the ball out of the airborne shooter's hand(s), the shooter can also recover the ball and then legally land with it...and dribble, shoot, etc.

Dem's the different calls.

eagle221 Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:24pm

"The hand is considered part of the ball when the hand is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul, no matter how loud it sounds or how much it hurts."

where do i find this in the nba rule book?

justacoach Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eagle221 (Post 738947)

where do i find this in the nba rule book?

Don't know, don't care

try Officiating | NBA.com

APG Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eagle221 (Post 738947)
"The hand is considered part of the ball when the hand is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul, no matter how loud it sounds or how much it hurts."

where do i find this in the nba rule book?

Rule 12, B. Personal Fouls,
Section I.

e. Contact which occurs on the hand of the offensive player, while that hand is in contact with the ball, is legal.

refiator Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:33pm

Hope I didn't miss this one somewhere is the post....
I put together a list of Top 25 misunderstood rules for my group a few years ago.
My # 1: There is no 3-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts.

This continues to be (in my opinion) the fan favorite call: "3 SECONDS"...when there is no team control.

rlighten Tue Nov 01, 2011 03:04pm

[QUOTE=BillyMac;421915]Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules - Part I

12) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.]

Does the same one-foot rule inbounds apply for anyone touching the ball? e.g. if a player is just coming back inbounds or into the frontcourt, does he need just "something in and nothing out" to be legal?

APG Tue Nov 01, 2011 03:10pm

[QUOTE=rlighten;796873]
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 421915)
Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules - Part I

12) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.]

Does the same one-foot rule inbounds apply for anyone touching the ball? e.g. if a player is just coming back inbounds or into the frontcourt, does he need just "something in and nothing out" to be legal?

A player only has to have one foot in and nothing touching out of bounds to be considered inbounds. Same with a player in the frontcourt in that he's in the frontcourt if he has a foot in the frontcourt and nothing touching the backcourt (exception being a dribbler where the three points rule applies).

Damian Tue Jun 25, 2013 02:18pm

#10 is until the ball is released for a throw in
 
Make sure that they are aware that after the ball is released, a defender may break the plane to defend the throw in. However, an offensive player may not break the plane to catch the throw in. It must cross the plane into the court area to be a legal throw in.

BillyMac Tue Jun 25, 2013 04:58pm

Thanks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Damian (Post 898455)
Make sure that they are aware that after the ball is released, a defender may break the plane to defend the throw in. However, an offensive player may not break the plane to catch the throw in. It must cross the plane into the court area to be a legal throw in.

Good point but I believe that the "List" is already too long. Anybody else in Forum-Land see the need to add this to the "List"?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1