![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
How would you handle this: A1 has the ball for an AP throw-in. Before the ball is passed inbounds, B2 fouls A2, and A is not yet in the bonus. Would you switch the arrow, and why? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'm not sure I'm explaining that clearly, but I hope you follow what I'm trying to say. |
Quote:
To me, once the thrower gets the ball, the AP has done its job. Now, where'd that d@mned windmill go? That's what I get for turning my back on the dastardly thing. |
Quote:
|
Can't we just go back to jump balls, the way the good Lord intended? :confused:
|
OMFG!
We had this debate on what the rule *should be* several times before they changed it. Now we've had it at least three times since they changed it. Makes Don Quixote seem sane. |
OS,Snaq:
A1 has ball OOB on an AP throw in. B1 slaps ensuing throw-in OOB. A retains throw-in because B1 caused the ball to go OOB. A loses arrow because they blew their AP throw in. B1 gains arrow with good, legal defense. A blew their AP throw-in. Period. Now, insert above, "B1 kicked the ball on ensuing throw-in." With new rule wording, A1 retains throw-in (for the kick violation), and retains arrow. B does NOT GET THE ARROW, now, for bad, "violation causing" defense. The old way, B would be rewarded the arrow for a kick violation, not for good defense. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Okay CoachP, I will play along. You feel because of the kicking violation, you shouldn't lose possession. However, the back end of this change is where the problem lies. This is why I said the space shuttle exploded. That hole on the back side is so big you can fly the shuttle thru it. Now, the AP doesn't switch after a sucessful throw-in if the defense kicks the ball first. Next held ball, same team keeps. Do you understand my problem with this rule? If not consider this: 1st quarter, AP pointed to Team A. Held ball, APTI to Team A On the throw-in, kick ball Team B, Team A inbounds again. New rule, Team A keeps AP even after successful TI because Team B kicked ball first. 2nd quarter, no held balls, team A inbounds because AP never changed Team B kicks ball on start of 2nd quarter inbound which also happens to be the APTI. Team A successfully inbounds after kick ball, arrow don't switch again because of new rule. 3rd quarter, no held balls, Team A gets possession again. I'm beginning to see the problem here. You guys and the rulemakers are caught up on the wording here, no you are twisted up on the wording. A violation is a violation, whether I knock it OOB's with my feet, hand, chest, or teammate. It's still a violation, which btw, carries its own penality. If the old rule says touching of the ball changes the arrow, then so be it. I always thought the rule before the change meant successful inbound before the AP changed or offense violation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Of course we're caught up in the wording! The wording is the essence of the rule. That's the point to this whole debate, confusion and difficulty. It's not that "we are twisted up on the wording" that's the problem. It's that the wording is not yet the best possible to convey the idea desired. We can't follow "the spirit of the rules" if we don't understand from the words which are used to convey the spirit of the rules. This is not a problem of "rule book officials" or "anal retentive lawyers" being obnoxcious jerks. It's a problem of using words well to properly convey thoughts. |
Quote:
When this thread started I had not received my Sportorial and, for some reason, could not access my online copy of it. And since I have been too busy officiating at team camps and watching my sons play baseball I did not want to get involved in this thread until I had had a chance to read Sportorial and see what it said. I am glad to see that Peter Webb clarified the Sportorial article. And, yes, Mark has the right idea: GO BACK TO JUMP BALLS. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17pm. |