The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump stop (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/36114-jump-stop.html)

Ch1town Sat Jun 30, 2007 08:01pm

Jump stop
 
I'm sure this has been covered before so I apologize in advance, but there isn't any pivot foot after the dribbler completes a jump stop... right?

If correct, please provide the rule# to back it up.

Scrapper1 Sat Jun 30, 2007 08:33pm

Your question is complicated by the fact that people use the phrase "jump stop" in two very different ways. Some people mean: (1) "catch ball while airborne, then land on two feet simultaneously"; and other people mean (2) "catch ball while airborne, land on one foot, jump off that foot, then land on two feet simultaneously".

If you mean (1), then either foot can be the pivot after landing. As soon as one foot is lifted, the other foot becomes the pivot.

If you mean (2), then you are correct that neither foot can be used as a pivot after landing. Either foot (or both feet) may be lifted to pass or shoot, but if that foot is returned to the floor, it is traveling.

I don't have my book with me tonight, but I'm sure somebody will post the relevant rule. It's in Rule 4.

Back In The Saddle Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:21am

Here ya go
 
From NFHS 4-44

ART. 2 . . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:

a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:

1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot.
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

b. If one foot is on the floor:

1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

BktBallRef Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
I'm sure this has been covered before so I apologize in advance, but there isn't any pivot foot after the dribbler completes a jump stop... right?

If correct, please provide the rule# to back it up.

End the dribble while jumping off one foot, no pivot.

End the dribble while airborne, pivot is legal.

Ch1town Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
End the dribble while jumping off one foot, no pivot

Thanks all, that's the one I was looking for.

Here's the rule to support the call provided by BITS
From NFHS 4-44

ART. 2 . . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:

b. If one foot is on the floor:

2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1