![]() |
Free Throw
Free throw gets lodged between rim and backboard. What is the call and why?
|
It depends. :)
If it's the first of two (or the first or second of three), then that free throw is no good and you move on to the next one. If it's the final throw of one, two, or three, or either throw of a one-and-one then the ball is dead and you restart with an AP throw in. |
BITS explained it, the citation is rule 6-4-3d.
. . . Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: a. A held ball occurs. b. The ball goes out of bounds, as in 7-3. c. A simultaneous free-throw violation occurs. d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows. Notice that the part in red also covers the final FT attempt on technical fouls, intentional personal fouls, and any other situation in which the lane spaces are unoccupied. |
Quote:
|
That is unlikely, but I have had them come to rest on the back of the rim.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
http://www.mydeo.com/videorequest.as...506&CID=109307 |
Is it my imagination (or my monitor) or are both teams wearing almost the same color uniforms?
No wonder the ball got stuck. :rolleyes: |
Quote:
Oh, never mind. Sorry Mark. Didn't mean to question you. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40am. |