The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2000, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

It is also not a correctable error situation because, since no T was called, no free-throws were merited. In other words, the officials, right or wrong, did not deem the situation worthy of a technical and did not call one. For the coach to go to the table and ask that a correctable error be rectified means that he wants the refs to call the T that they passed on. But a "should have" foul (in this case, a T) is not correctable. The refs as described in this situation were remiss in their duties, especially the second time around, but the game must go on nonetheless. It is not a correctable situation. (Also, if this was a 5th or 6th grade game, I might be more lenient on the touching the ball issue anyway, prefering to use it--even the second time--as a teaching situation. Maybe THEN, if it continued, I'd call a T, and then again explain to the player why I did so.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1