The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 03:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Bulls-Pistons

I didn't see a thread on this already, so here goes...

I think it was early 3rd maybe late 2nd (watching the replay on ESPN at work, so I don't know exactly when this happened), Heinrich of the Bulls went airborn to catch a pass and contact the official who was out of bounds with his knee will catching the ball. Now I'm not calling the official out or anything because replays show him rubbing his head, looking like he is just trying to figure out where he was, but should this have been an OOB call and Pistons ball?

Don't have my FED with me, but I think its the same as NCAA which I pulled up online and 7.1 and 7.2 suggest OOB, as does NBA 8.1 and 8.2. I think where I'm doubting my interpretation is the wording is that a player is OOB when he is touching "the floor or any object other than a player on or outside the boundary line". Does "object" include the official. I know some officials might object to being called an object but we certainly aren't players. 7.2 or 8.2 certainly allows us to call it OOB if the ball touches us, but what about the player in control of the ball.

Or to be really silly if we aren't considering people to be objects, could a player have some of the offensive linemen from the football team lay down OOB and he walk across them to a spot OOB where the defender can't reach them and use this as a delay tactic. I know this is completely radical and there are rules to handle this, but based on the way 7.1 is written wouldn't it be legal excluding other objections that I'm sure will be mentioned. This very radical thought process led me to believe that contacting and official OOB while possessing the ball should be OOB.

I didn't check the FED case book, but the NCAA approved rulings don't cover the situation and the NBA casebook online isn't very organized in terms of finding specific rulings so if I'm way off base please point me in the right direction.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
FED rules / cases are clear that touching a person <> touching an object OOB.

Frankly, I think it's the "wrong" rule.

IDK and IDC what the NBA rule is.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHS Casebook
7.1.1 Ruling - To be out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects.
NBA rules don't seem to have this exception, but I'll wait until one of our pro rules experts comes by.

I agree with Bob, though, that the NFHS interpretation is incorrect - from both the rules and the metaphysics perspectives.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
I saw the play in question, and even remember the official in question still rubbing his head during some free throws a minute or so later.

Anyhow, on the play in question, and I don't have a replay to review, but I'm not completely positive that said official was OOB. Anyone have a replay?
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
No, he is not considered OOB, unless he tried to use the referee to keep himself from going OOB, which this was not the case. the only way this could have been OOB is if the ball was loose and it hit the ref with him being OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
No, he is not considered OOB, unless he tried to use the referee to keep himself from going OOB, which this was not the case. the only way this could have been OOB is if the ball was loose and it hit the ref with him being OOB.
Do you have a reference for this?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pistons brandan89 Basketball 6 Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:01pm
Go Pistons!!! oatmealqueen Basketball 24 Mon Jun 14, 2004 07:20pm
GO PISTONS! WestMichBlue Softball 22 Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:35am
Pistons and Nets ...Fun mick Basketball 3 Sat May 15, 2004 07:03pm
Runing with the Bulls ! James Neil Football 9 Mon Mar 01, 2004 03:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1