The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in hits backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3448-throw-hits-backboard.html)

Hoosier Sat Dec 15, 2001 10:33am

During game last night, I am administering the throw in on the baseline in the backcourt. Defense is pressing. The throw in hits the side edge of the backboard and is caught by a teammate. I allow the play to go on, but "C" comes across and says it hit the backboard. I asked him which side and he said it didn't matter on a throw in. I thought that all edges of the backboard were inbounds. If had hit the back of the backboard I would have whistled the violation immediately. Am I wrong on my interpretation of this? I typically follow the principle that if the ball deflects any way but backwards, it did not hit the back of the backboard.

Mark Dexter Sat Dec 15, 2001 10:39am

You're right on both counts - rules (hitting back is illegal at any time, anything else is legal at any time) and physics (if it bounces backwards it hit the back edge). The only exception would be that if something hits the bottom edge from behind, it might go backwards and down, but you can tell the difference.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 15, 2001 10:43am

You were right and your partner was wrong. Show him the rule the next time you see him.


4-4-5
A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute a part of a dribble.

Hoosier Sat Dec 15, 2001 10:46am

I found it in the case book. I knew it was there somewhere. Case 7.1.2 touches on this even though it primarily deals with the ball going over the backboard on a throw in.

Mark Padgett Sat Dec 15, 2001 03:12pm

Tell the "C" to "C" a rulebook.

daves Sat Dec 15, 2001 04:00pm

Good no call. In a game I had last night, some of the players were telling me that the opponents shot hit off the top of the backboard after hitting the front of the rim. I said, " yeah, and...." "Aren't you going to call it ref?" I said, "no." Perfectly legal.

bossref Sun Dec 16, 2001 06:35am

One page of Most Misunderstood Rules
 
If the powers that be care to educate,
You can produce a page of the rules
that are usually misunderstood by players
and coaches.
It has worked well in my area.
Most Misunderstood Rules!
Try to cover(and fully explain):
(1) Ok to recover airball
(2) hand part of ball
(3) parts of board legal/illegal
(4) one step for blind screen
(5) both feet and ball dribbling into frontcourt
(6) ball deflected by D then off O into backcourt
(7) must pass, shoot,start dribble, call TO from floor
(8) kicking must be intentional
(9) can move one or both feet on throwin
(10) no warning when D crosses plane contacts ball.
etc etc etc choose your words wisely
and good luck









on a throwin
(11) ball released before pivot foot moves for dribble
(12)can swing elbows same speed as shoulders
etc etc etc
Select wording that will be easily understood.

PP Sun Dec 16, 2001 09:24am

What do you mean by number 7....
ball deflected by D then off O into backcourt ????

Mark Dexter Sun Dec 16, 2001 10:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by PP
What do you mean by number 7....
ball deflected by D then off O into backcourt ????

In regards to the deflected by D, then off O, then into backcourt (which was #6), this is a backcourt violation. Many people think this is not BC because the defense tipped the ball away. However, the four requirements were met:

(1) Team A had control.
(2) The ball had frontcourt status.
(3) A was the last to touch the ball before it went into the backcourt.
(4) A was (will be) the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 16, 2001 02:28pm

Re: One page of Most Misunderstood Rules
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bossref
If the powers that be care to educate,
(10) no warning when D crosses plane contacts ball.
on a throwin

Actually this is a warning. A warning and a technical foul. :)

Don't forget to give the warning on this play.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 16, 2001 02:53pm

Re: Re: One page of Most Misunderstood Rules
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by bossref
If the powers that be care to educate,
(10) no warning when D crosses plane contacts ball.
on a throwin

Actually this is a warning. A warning and a technical foul. :)

Don't forget to give the warning on this play.

Gee,TH,what if B starts up the court without going OOB to start the throw-in,and A then knocks the ball out of his hands.Is it still a warning or is it a violation on B?WONDERING MINDS NEED TO KNOW!!!:confused:

mick Sun Dec 16, 2001 02:56pm

Re: Re: One page of Most Misunderstood Rules
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by bossref
If the powers that be care to educate,
(10) no warning when D crosses plane contacts ball.
on a throwin

Actually this is a warning. A warning and a technical foul. :)

Don't forget to give the warning on this play.

He probably meant after the ball is released.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 16, 2001 03:16pm

Probably but that's another can of worms. Remember? :(

Mark Dexter Sun Dec 16, 2001 04:15pm

Re: Re: One page of Most Misunderstood Rules
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by bossref
If the powers that be care to educate,
(10) no warning when D crosses plane contacts ball.
on a throwin

Actually this is a warning. A warning and a technical foul. :)

Don't forget to give the warning on this play.

Actually, I thought this was referring to reaching through the plane and dislodging the ball - this is an automatic T with no warning (9-2 Penalty 3).

Of course, if they dislodge the ball, they must have first reached through the plane, rendering the T . . .

AARRRGGGGHHHHH!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1