The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   situation did the ref make the right call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/34276-situation-did-ref-make-right-call.html)

needananswear Sat May 05, 2007 09:47pm

situation did the ref make the right call?
 
ok so here is the situation in one of my games. We are down by 1 with 1.3 seconds opponents ball. A teammate of mine intercepts the pass goes to shoot and is fouled. My coach did not see which ref called it so he started yelling at the ref. The ref teched him up but his complaint was its a dead clock so you cannot call a technical.

Thank you all who help!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat May 05, 2007 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by needananswear
ok so here is the situation in one of my games. We are down by 1 with 1.3 seconds opponents ball. A teammate of mine intercepts the pass goes to shoot and is fouled. My coach did not see which ref called it so he started yelling at the ref. The ref teched him up but his complaint was its a dead clock so you cannot call a technical.

Thank you all who help!


NeedAnAsnwer:

Yes, the game official was correct in charging your coach with a technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct. B1 (your teammate) was fouled in the act of shooting by A1. You did not say whether B1's field goal attempt was successful, so I am going to assume that it was not. The penalty for A1's foul against B1 is two free throws being awarded to B1. If the game clock had expired before B1 was able to release his field goal attempt (which is what I assume to have happened), the free throws will be shot by B1 with no players along the free throw lane. Since the fourth quarter doesn't end until B1 has finished shooting his free throws. The technical foul committed by your coach was part of the fourth quarter.

MTD, Sr.

mick Sat May 05, 2007 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by needananswear
ok so here is the situation in one of my games. We are down by 1 with 1.3 seconds opponents ball. A teammate of mine intercepts the pass goes to shoot and is fouled. My coach did not see which ref called it so he started yelling at the ref. The ref teched him up but his complaint was its a dead clock so you cannot call a technical.
Thank you all who help!

Why did your coach yell at the officials for calling a foul against your opponent ?

Do you mean your teammate was contacted, but no foul was called ?

After the clock expired, a coach [or a player] may be whacked with a "T" as long as the officials have not left the floor.

Your coach probably does not have a rule book [he only has a rude book], so he shouldn't try to quote a rule until he reads a rule.

SMEngmann Sun May 06, 2007 03:18am

The bigger question is how out of control was your coach in yelling at the ref to get a T at that point of the game over a foul called on an opponent?

Referees have authority to call technicals while the game is under their jurisdiction which ends only when the officials leave the visual confines of the court after the game.

I actually heard a story from about a tournament this past winter where Team A seemingly beat Team B by 1 point, and A1 in celebration grabbed the rim and did some sort of celebration, the officials were still there and charged A1 with a technical foul, B1 made both free throws and team B won the game. Not the cleanest way to end a game to say the least, but correct strictly by the book.

Nevadaref Sun May 06, 2007 05:52am

What is happening with the clock has absolutely no bearing on calling technical fouls. Whether the BALL is live or dead does have a bearing on this. Also, a technical foul for unsporting conduct can be called at anytime during the game, no matter what is the status of the ball or the clock.

Those are the facts. In short, your coach isn't correct.

BktBallRef Sun May 06, 2007 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by needananswear
ok so here is the situation in one of my games. We are down by 1 with 1.3 seconds opponents ball. A teammate of mine intercepts the pass goes to shoot and is fouled. My coach did not see which ref called it so he started yelling at the ref. The ref teched him up but his complaint was its a dead clock so you cannot call a technical.

Thank you all who help!

Your coach is an idiot. It makes no difference whether the clock is running or stopped, he can't start yelling at him.

Here's a news flash. Even after the game is over, the referee can call a technical on your coach.

Mark Dexter Sun May 06, 2007 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by needananswear
The ref teched him up but his complaint was its a dead clock so you cannot call a technical.

I've never seen a clock that was alive, so I guess he was right that the clock was dead.

Technical fouls can be assessed up until the moment the officials leave the "visual confines" of the playing court. Just ask the three players I've ejected well after their intramural games have ended, when they decided to come up to me and make a**es out of themselves.

Jurassic Referee Sun May 06, 2007 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Just ask the three players I've ejected well after their intramural games have ended, when they decided to come up to me and make <font color = red>dexters</font> out of themselves.

:D <i></i>

Mark Dexter Sun May 06, 2007 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
:D <i></i>

When I ref, I'm usually the only Dexter on the court.

(Except that I did get partnered with a guy with the same last name a few times - no relation.)

Mark Padgett Sun May 06, 2007 12:21pm

I had a partner whack a coach this year during a timeout. The coach complained to me that he couldn't get a T because "the clock wasn't running". I told him that yes - my partner made a mistake. He looked relieved until I told him that a technical during a time when the clock wasn't running is supposed to count as TWO technicals and that I would correct my partner's mistake. :eek:

He stopped looking relieved. :p

Mark Dexter Sun May 06, 2007 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I had a partner whack a coach this year during a timeout. The coach complained to me that he couldn't get a T because "the clock wasn't running". I told him that yes - my partner made a mistake. He looked relieved until I told him that a technical during a time when the clock wasn't running is supposed to count as TWO technicals and that I would correct my partner's mistake. :eek:

He stopped looking relieved. :p

I've never heard that one in basketball. Definately a good come-back, though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1