The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not.... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3310-travel-not.html)

scooter Mon Dec 03, 2001 10:17am

NFHS Rules: A1 receives the ball at the post position. A1 pivots, takes two steps to the basket and lays the ball up for a score. I am being told that in this situation A1 is allowed the two steps without dribbling. In other situations this would be traveling. I can't find a good explanation for this in the rule book. Is this correct?.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 03, 2001 10:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by scooter
NFHS Rules: A1 receives the ball at the post position. A1 pivots, takes two steps to the basket and lays the ball up for a score. I am being told that in this situation A1 is allowed the two steps without dribbling. In other situations this would be traveling. I can't find a good explanation for this in the rule book. Is this correct?.
If the pivot foot was lifted and returned to the floor before the ball left the shooter's hand, it's a travel.

The travelling rules don't change just because the ball is in the post.

BktBallRef Mon Dec 03, 2001 10:43am

Was his back to the basket when he cuaght the ball?

If it was, then he didn't pivot. He stepped with one foot and then stepped with his pivot. Bob is right. This is a travel. Kids will continue to do it until we, as officials, crack down on it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1