![]() |
A new low in coverage
So it's a travel when you left your pivot foot huh?
And to my surprise the usually solid Clark Kellogg was agreeing with it. |
When you left your pivot foot? Huh?:confused:
|
Damn, I'm not even an official or former player but I know more about the rules than Clark Kellogg.
That's pretty sad. I couldn't believe he had time to think about that, and still said it. |
Quote:
|
It was not just Kellogg. All 3 said it was a travel in the booth.
Peace |
Quote:
I expect it from idiots like Davis and Gumbel. |
Man! I was starting to panic and think I really didn't know anything about the travel rules. I had to immediately come to the forum and see if you guys where commenting on this.
These guys are nuts to make such a ridiculous statement. |
Quote:
Yeah, I know. I'm just disappointed that Kellogg was there at the time when something that stupid was said and he seemed to be right there with them. |
I just wrote CBS on their feedback link regarding this. I just about threw up in my mouth when they were talking about this. I only feel slightly better.
I definite ding on Kellog, who is generally solid. Who is the guy on the far right side of the desk, and what's his basketball history? (thank you in advance) - Ah, Seth Davis. Just saw his name. He now goes in the Packer category, as he was the one with the extended comment on the issue. |
Quote:
LOL. I went to the CBS feedback as well. I was looking for a phone number. |
Quote:
|
I know! I can't take it.
|
There explanation was incorrect. However, he switched pivots and traveled.
The last 3 min in the Butler was officiated awfully. The last 3 min of both of the early games showed that some officials definitely swallow the whistle late in the game. JMO, I know these guys are great officials. But if hasn't been showcased today. |
Quote:
|
I too just sent some feedback.
This is painful to sit through in most cases, but tonight I heard Kellogg and Elmore completely butcher a rule, and that makes me more mad than 10 games of Packer. |
Quote:
After he lost the ball, he re-gained control with both feet down. Okay. He then pivoted on his right foot away from the hoop.....stopped....then pivoted back towards the hoop on his LEFT foot. Did I see it wrong? Am I missing something? Because if I didn't - isn't that a travel? :confused: Somebody please set me straight if need be......I am pretty tired, so maybe saw things wrong. Is it on YouTube yet? :D |
It would have been a travel had he returned his right foot to the floor before releasing the shot. See 4.44.3 Situation C in the Case book, basically the same play.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
His right foot is the pivot foot. Once he lifts that up, the left foot coming down doesn't matter, as long as the right foot doesn't return to the floor before the shot is released. Remember - these are the same announcers who will often see a player take 3-4 steps on a drive to the basket, but then think that a travel should not have been called. |
He regained possession, established his right foot as his pivot foot, pivoted, stepped with his left foot, lifted his right foot and shot.
That is 100% legal. |
Quote:
|
I'm at work tonight...all the guys are telling me Georgetown should not have won..."the announcers said the player traveled at the end of the game on the shot."
I went to CBS on demand (watched on computer)...they showed the play...the two talking heads said it was "CLEARLY" a travel, because the player lifted his pivot foot. Do you think there will be a retraction by all these "know-it-alls" when they actually find out the rule? |
Wow so now the CBS guys have switched saying he lifted his right foot half a milimeter and brought it down again before pivoting. Way to bail yourselves out guys. If they call that a travel then pretty much every single play is a travel.
|
Uh-oh, Billy Packer just said it wasn't a travel!
Now they're showing him lifting his pivot foot during the pivot and returning it to the floor. Still doesn't excuse that they were calling it a travel on the lifting of the pivot foot for the shot. |
Quote:
|
Just watched this in slow motion during the USC/UNC game. After he retained control of the ball. His right foot is clearly the pivot. During his move to the left his right foot is lifted (just slightly) and is placed on the floor again. It was then raised again for the lay up to the basket. Travel.
I felt that the slight lift was caused by a knee and push from behind. Without slow motion this would have clearly been a very hard travel to see and call with number of players around. |
Quote:
|
Of course they do not say "we were wrong with what we first said, but it was still a travel," they just say it was a travel cuz of lifting it twice.
|
Quote:
|
This is a play that we see a lot in girls/women's basketball ... obviously, these announcers don't watch women's hoops very often.
|
Quote:
|
The CBS announcers's statement, which is clearly wrong, was "It should have been called a travel as soon as he lifted his pivot foot."
That is what they need to retract. Unless they do, they will continue to perpetuate a rather annoying basketball rules myth. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm. |