The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
cite please?
Okay......

According to NCAA Rule 5-13-4: "When play is resumed by a throw-in, the game clock and shot clock shall be started when the ball is legally touched by or touches a player on the playing court."

According to NCAA Rule 5-9-1&2:

"The game clock and shot clock, if running, shall be stopped when an
official:
Art. 1. Signals:
a. A foul.
b. A held ball.
c. A violation.
Art. 2. Stops play:
a. Because of an injury or a loss of a contact lens.
b. To confer with the scorers, timer or shot-clock operator.
c. Because of unusual delay in a dead ball being made live.
d. For any emergency."

For whatever reason the whistle was blown, the timer should have stopped the clock. The IW stops the clock, and except in cases where the ball is in flight on a shot, makes the ball dead.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewNCref
Okay......

"The game clock and shot clock, if running, shall be stopped...
This is where you're getting tripped up. The clock was never started. Therefore, it couldn't have been stopped. By a whistle, or by anything else. You need to forget about the whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
This is where you're getting tripped up. The clock was never started. Therefore, it couldn't have been stopped. By a whistle, or by anything else.
Does it not matter that it SHOULD have been running. I don't see how the result of the play if the timing is done correctly and the result of the play if the timing is done incorrectly can be different. I mean, it just doesn't seem correct.

If timing was done correctly, clock starts on tip and ends on whistle.

If timing is done incorrectly, and then corrected, then clock starts on tip and ends only once it's actually OOB (ignoring the whistle by the official)?

It just doesn't seem quite right.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewNCref

If timing was done correctly, clock starts on tip and ends on whistle.
Timing wasn't done correctly, so you'd be better to strike this sentence from your brain. It's just causing confusion.

Focus on this sentence:

Quote:
If timing is done incorrectly, and then corrected, then clock starts on tip and ends only once it's actually OOB (ignoring the whistle by the official)?
You have now answered your own question.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
This is where you're getting tripped up. The clock was never started. Therefore, it couldn't have been stopped. By a whistle, or by anything else. You need to forget about the whistle.
I admit that I know a fraction of the rule book, but I just can't "forget about the whistle." It seems so illogical to me that the mechanism used to stop the clock in almost every other situation on the basketball court should be ignored due to the official timer's error.

It seems that more people are in agreement with this interpretation, but it just "seems" wrong to me.

Thanks all
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATXCoach
I admit that I know a fraction of the rule book, but I just can't "forget about the whistle." It seems so illogical to me that the mechanism used to stop the clock in almost every other situation on the basketball court should be ignored due to the official timer's error.

It seems that more people are in agreement with this interpretation, but it just "seems" wrong to me.

Thanks all
Again, you have to forget about the whistle, because whether or not it was blown is irrelevant since its function in that play was to stop the clock.

But, the clock never started in that play, so the blowing of the whistle becomes irrelevant.

Thus, the officials had to judge when the ball was dead by judging when it went out of bounds, not when the whistle was blown.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1