The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3.1 to 2.0? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/33000-3-1-2-0-a.html)

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 22, 2007 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimpiano
Dan, a little testy?

I have no dog in the hunt.

We have your take on the call.

I asked for a rule book explanation.

Is there one? Can you cite it?

If he does, what are you gonna do to check it? You don't own an NCAA basketball rule book and you've never officiated a basketball game in your life. You're obviously clueless when it comes to the rules anyway.

Or do you think that he'd really lie to you?

Now shoo, fanboy, shoo.....

Dan_ref Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If he does, what are you gonna do to check it? You don't own an NCAA basketball rule book and you've never officiated a basketball game in your life. You're obviously clueless when it comes to the rules anyway.

Or do you think that he'd really lie to you?

Now shoo, fanboy, shoo.....

Hey you think he's calling me a liar? geeze, i never considered that...sniff sniff...I need a hug.

JoeTheRef Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimpiano
Dan, a little testy?

I have no dog in the hunt.

We have your take on the call.

I asked for a rule book explanation.

Is there one? Can you cite it?

Rule 14-51-3b.

jkjenning Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
First of all I did not ignore anything.

You were not the "you" in my statement :)

ATXCoach Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:13pm

I do not disagree that the ball hit in bounds and it took 1.1 seconds for it to hit something out of bounds.

What I don't understand is why the whistle is irrelevant. The trail, I can only assume, thought the ball was out of bounds, thus he blew his whistle.

What am I missing that allows the other two officials to disregard the whistle (i.e. change the call based on the monitor)?

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach

What am I missing that allows the other two officials to disregard the whistle (i.e. change the call based on the monitor)?

You're missing the <b>rule</b>. The <b>rule</b> and the procedure used to determine "definite information" has been explained several times. You can either believe the explanations.... or not. It's a waste of time repeating them.

sseltser Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:36pm

The rule allows them to change an obvious timing error, correct?

If there were no timing error the clock would start at the touch and end at the whistle. Why should it be timed to when the ball went OOB?

Dan_ref Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser
The rule allows them to change an obvious timing error, correct?

If there were no timing error the clock would start at the touch and end at the whistle. Why should it be timed to when the ball went OOB?

What whistle?

sseltser Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:40pm

I now know that you didn't hear the whistle. THERE WAS A WHISTLE!!!! Why would people be on here posting about a whistle that didn't happen.

Now please go back and try to answer these questions on the premise that there was a whistle blown between when the ball bounced and when it was caught by the person at the table.

rainmaker Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser
The rule allows them to change an obvious timing error, correct?

If there were no timing error the clock would start at the touch and end at the whistle. Why should it be timed to when the ball went OOB?

The rules about correcting errors don't always make sense to me either. But the refs who do the tournament know the rules well, and know how to apply them. You can be sure whatever they did was correct!

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser
I now know that you didn't hear the whistle. THERE WAS A WHISTLE!!!! Why would people be on here posting about a whistle that didn't happen.

Now please go back and try to answer these questions on the premise that there was a whistle blown between when the ball bounced and when it was caught by the person at the table.

The freaking question has been answered fourteen freaking times so far. Go back and read the freaking answers. If you don't want to believe those freakings answers, so be it. Who cares? It's a complete waste of freaking time to give the same freaking answer over and over--again and again.

Adam Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
I don't have a problem necessarily how much time they took off, I'm no better a judge of that than anyone sitting courtside. I'm not sure how accurate a stopwatch would be though. I just feel that a stopwatch doesn't provide definite knowledge. It is certainly better than just making up a number as the announcers suggested, but in my opinion it doesn't qualify as definite.

If I can use my mental 10 second (or 5 second) count as definite knowledge, I would think a stopwatch would count. They use stopwatches, afterall, to time world class sprinters; I think they can consider it definite knowledge for 1.1 seconds.

sseltser Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:55pm

JR,
Let's say the official timer doesn't make an error.

He starts the clock when it is touched by the Memphis player.

He stops the clock when the whistle was blown (which happened before the OOB touch)

The officials can correct the timing mistake.

The manual timing can't go past the whistle because that would be the stopping point if there weren't an error.

I'm basically trying to figure out how the error correcting would be different than if there were no error.


Also, It is possible that the officials timed up to the point of the whistle. That could've been 1.1 secs. However, the rules don't support timing all the way to the touch out of bounds.

NewNCref Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:07pm

Okay, for all concerned, I'm going to break this down nice and slow.

Here's the sequence of events:

1.) Ball touched inbounds by Memphis player.

2.) Ball hits court.

3.) Official blows whistle (whether for being OOB or just an IW)

4.) Ball bounces up, and lands at the table, definitely OOB

Now, according to NCAA Rule 6-5-1d, the ball became dead when the official blew the whistle. For whatever reason the T blew it, it became dead. Now, the question is to whether or not the OOB call or the IW call could be overturned in this situation.

For the OOB call, it is a judgement call, and NCAA Rule 2-5-3c says that "The officials shall not use a courtside monitor or courtside videotape for judgment calls such as: (c) A violation." So this doesn't work. If it was an OOB call, the ball was dead when the whistle was blown, and then call can't be changed, even though it would have obviously been incorrect.

For the IW call, the ball is simply dead, and there is nothing to correct.

Either way, the ball was dead when the whistle blew, and therefore the time should have been measured from when the ball was touched until when the T blew his whistle.

THIS is not the timing error. There was a timing error on this play, but it is irrespective of when the ball became dead.

DC_Ref12 Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewNCref
therefore the time should have been measured from when the ball was touched until when the T blew his whistle.

cite please?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1