The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2007, 03:31pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
I have an NFHS rulebook at my desk and Rule 8:1 ART1 and Caseplay 8:1:1 Sit A specifically says the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower when it is bounced by the administering official.
It's interesting that the books use that language in 8-1 and 8.1.1 because in 4-4-7, the word "disposal" is defined very specifically. The ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:

a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her
c. Placed on the floor at the spot
d. Available to a player after a goal.

Notice that nowhere does it say the ball is at a player's disposal when it is bounced. It specifically says that it's at the player's disposal when it is caught.

I see the point that you're making about the case play, but I think strictly speaking, the ball is live and is at the free thrower's disposal ONLY when it is caught.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2007, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
It's interesting that the books use that language in 8-1 and 8.1.1 because in 4-4-7, the word "disposal" is defined very specifically. The ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:

a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her
c. Placed on the floor at the spot
d. Available to a player after a goal.

Notice that nowhere does it say the ball is at a player's disposal when it is bounced. It specifically says that it's at the player's disposal when it is caught.

I see the point that you're making about the case play, but I think strictly speaking, the ball is live and is at the free thrower's disposal ONLY when it is caught.
4-4-7B can be applied to a throw in as well, because I do administer some of my throw-ins with a bounce, but....

Verbatim Rule 8 Sec 1 Art 1: When a free throw is awarded, the ball shall be placed at the disposal of the free thrower (bounced) by the administering official and the free throw count shall begin. <(Period)

I guess IREF was correct when he said:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
NFHS needs to also clarify the ruling of at the disposal of the free thrower. Once place it says bounced and in another it says bounced and caught.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2007, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
I have an NFHS rulebook at my desk and Rule 8:1 ART1 and Caseplay 8:1:1 Sit A specifically says the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower when it is bounced by the administering official.
In this case, 4-4-7 prevails. 8-1 and 8.1.1 are simply stating that the method of getting the ball to the player is by bouncing it to him/her. (8.1.1 specifically references 4-4-7b and says that the ball is live when it is caught by the free thrower.)

My guess is that that 8.1.1 - stating that bouncing is the correct procedure - came into play when the officials' manual was changed so that the L would administer free throws, rather than the C/T. I do agree that it could be a bit clearer semantically.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2007, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
In this case, 4-4-7 prevails. 8-1 and 8.1.1 are simply stating that the method of getting the ball to the player is by bouncing it to him/her. (8.1.1 specifically references 4-4-7b and says that the ball is live when it is caught by the free thrower.)

My guess is that that 8.1.1 - stating that bouncing is the correct procedure - came into play when the officials' manual was changed so that the L would administer free throws, rather than the C/T. I do agree that it could be a bit clearer semantically.
I agree with you that it could be a bit clearer. The FED could take notes from the NCAA and be SPECIFIC with their disposal definition..."Caught by the thrower-in or the free thrower after its bounced to him or her." And after reading their rule, I guess that's the intent of the FED as well. Maybe Ms. Struckhoff can correct that in the near future..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2007, 06:14pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
8-1 and 8.1.1 are simply stating that the method of getting the ball to the player is by bouncing it to him/her.
That was exactly my thought, too, Mark.

P.S. -- Did you get my PM?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2007, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
In this case, 4-4-7 prevails. 8-1 and 8.1.1 are simply stating that the method of getting the ball to the player is by bouncing it to him/her. (8.1.1 specifically references 4-4-7b and says that the ball is live when it is caught by the free thrower.)

My guess is that that 8.1.1 - stating that bouncing is the correct procedure - came into play when the officials' manual was changed so that the L would administer free throws, rather than the C/T. I do agree that it could be a bit clearer semantically.
That is completely correct. The NFHS mechanics changed and rules had to evolve to reflect that. However, most of the language was simply held over. Thus the perceived contradiction.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2007, 01:33pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
NFHS needs to also clarify the ruling of at the disposal of the free thrower. Once place it says bounced and in another it says bounced and caught.
The NFHS did. Case book play 8.1.1SitA says that the ball is live when it is caught by the FT thrower, or after the official has placed it on the floor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lane Violation coach_x Basketball 2 Sat Jun 17, 2006 02:38am
Michigan State vs Kentucky- 2 or a 3? Joe Gilmore Basketball 33 Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:02pm
1 &1 w/lane violation gostars Basketball 1 Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:12pm
lane violation? roadking Basketball 5 Sun Feb 29, 2004 10:04pm
Lane violation or not D.Hosler Basketball 11 Wed Feb 09, 2000 06:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1