The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pac-10 T right or wrong? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32558-pac-10-t-right-wrong.html)

JoeTheRef Thu Mar 08, 2007 08:25am

Art. 12 False Double Foul. A false double foul occurs when there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the game clock is started after it is stopped for the first but such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.
A.R. 21. A1 is entitled to a one-and-one free throw. Before the ball is handed to A1, Team A's coach is assessed a direct technical foul. RULING. The direct technical foul creates a false fouble foul. Team B shall be awarded two free throws because of the diret technical foul on coach A. After Team B shoots the free throws for the technical foul, A1 shall attempt the one-and-one since that was the point of interruption.

tomegun Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Art. 12 False Double Foul. A false double foul occurs when there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the game clock is started after it is stopped for the first but such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.
A.R. 21. A1 is entitled to a one-and-one free throw. Before the ball is handed to A1, Team A's coach is assessed a direct technical foul. RULING. The direct technical foul creates a false fouble foul. Team B shall be awarded two free throws because of the diret technical foul on coach A. After Team B shoots the free throws for the technical foul, A1 shall attempt the one-and-one since that was the point of interruption.

Joe, what does all this have to do with the play from the game last night?

JoeTheRef Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun
Joe, what does all this have to do with the play from the game last night?

Well in the OP, what was created was a false double foul. I quoted the rule and the case play to show that the refs DID NOT kick the rule. You shoot the FTs for the intentional technical foul, then you go back to the POI and shoot the 1 and 1.

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Well in the OP, what was created was a false double foul. I quoted the rule and the case play to show that the refs DID NOT kick the rule. You shoot the FTs for the intentional technical foul, then you go back to the POI and shoot the 1 and 1.

Joe, this is NOT correct. As others have pointed out, part of the penalty for an intentional technical foul is possession of the ball (2 shots and the ball). So if the technical was for dead ball contact, then the refs kicked it by not awarding possession along with the 2 shots.

If the technical was for something that was SAID during the dead ball, then this is a direct technical (not intentional) and the situation was handled correctly.

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Well in the OP, what was created was a false double foul. I quoted the rule and the case play to show that the refs DID NOT kick the rule. <font color = red>You shoot the FTs for the <b>intentional technical foul</b>, then you go back to the POI and shoot the 1 and 1</font>.

Again, that is completely <b>wrong</b> under NCAA Mens rules. Part of the penalty for an intentional technical foul is getting the ball at center after the FT's. The applicable rules have already been cited--NCAA rules 10-15 & 10-16-1.

JoeTheRef Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Joe, this is NOT correct. As others have pointed out, part of the penalty for an intentional technical foul is possession of the ball (2 shots and the ball). So if the technical was for dead ball contact, then the refs kicked it by not awarding possession along with the 2 shots.

If the technical was for something that was SAID during the dead ball, then this is a direct technical (not intentional) and the situation was handled correctly.


You're right, and I stand corrected... Thanks.

JoeTheRef Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Again, that is completely <b>wrong</b> under NCAA Mens rules. Part of the penalty for an intentional technical foul is getting the ball at center after the FT's. The applicable rules have already been cited--NCAA rules 10-15 & 10-16-1.

You're correct.. I guess I just kicked it like the other three last night, if it was an Intentional Technical.

jmaellis Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
If you are ignoring me because you do not know how to answer an NCAA question, then you are not worth to talk to me in the first place. :D

Peace

Did somebody say something????

TRef21 Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun
It sounds like they kicked it. I will ask Bobby about it today or tomorrow.

BTW, send up a prayer for Bobby. He has to have surgery on the 9th of April. I will get to spend some time with him when I'm out there. I normally stay with him and he works some games, but I don't know if he will be up to it this year.

Yah lets us know. I know bobby was working right now with Bruce Hicks, Mike Reed.
But yah let us know on that ruling.

JRutledge Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
Did somebody say something????

Who is this person again?

Peace

TRef21 Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Art. 12 False Double Foul. A false double foul occurs when there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the game clock is started after it is stopped for the first but such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.
A.R. 21. A1 is entitled to a one-and-one free throw. Before the ball is handed to A1, Team A's coach is assessed a direct technical foul. RULING. The direct technical foul creates a false fouble foul. Team B shall be awarded two free throws because of the diret technical foul on coach A. After Team B shoots the free throws for the technical foul, A1 shall attempt the one-and-one since that was the point of interruption.

I don't believe this is a double foul because only one team was penalized.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
I don't believe this is a double foul because only one team was penalized.

Once again I don't believe that you are correct. :D

(There were fouls against both ASU and Washington in this case. If both fouls had been against only one team, it would have been a false multiple foul. :cool: )

TRef21 Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:46pm

Thats a no brainer. I thought in the post he said that ASU fouled which was 1-1 and then got a tech? I could have miss read it. if I did he is right.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
Thats a no brainer. I thought in the post he said that ASU fouled which was 1-1 and then got a tech? I could have miss read it. if I did he is right.

Well, I wrote the original post! :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
At 6:51 of the 1st half Washington's Quicy Pondexter was charged with a technical foul for pushing an ASU player during the dead ball following an ASU foul which warranted a 1-1.

We're just going to have to pick on you for a while and make you really good at the rules. ;)

TRef21 Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Well, I wrote the original post! :)



We're just going to have to pick on you for a while and make you really good at the rules. ;)

Opps! I did miss read the scenario. Now I feel like dumbass even more. Hey but if you are willing to make me better I will gladly accept the offer. In a game situation I know how to enforce it. When I see it on paper I tend to zip through it. So I'm slowing and thinking I'm on the floor. You guys are the best.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1