The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3252-2-questions.html)

Jeremy40 Thu Nov 22, 2001 11:36pm

player 1A is inbounding under A's basket. player 1A inbounds the ball to player 2A at the top of the key. the ball tips off of player 2A's hand and rolls into the backcourt. 2A recovers the ball in the backcourt. is this over and back? i heard that player 2A must first establish possession of the ball before a backcourt call can be made.

my other question. is there such a call as carrying or palming the ball? i see a lot of officials make this call and flip there hand back and forth (the same hand signal as over and back). one official told me that it could actually be called a double dribble or travel. can anyone help me on this?

Mark Dexter Thu Nov 22, 2001 11:40pm

Q1 - Yes, that's legal. There must be team control before a backcourt violation can be called.

Q2 - Yes, there is a "carry" call. You're correct in that this is technically a travel or double dribble (because the dribble ends when the ball is palmed), however, if you called a double dribble when the player clearly didn't stop his dribbling attempt, you'd get quite a few odd looks.

Mark Padgett Fri Nov 23, 2001 03:42pm

Actually, the hand signal for a carry was eliminated a few years ago and we were told to use the illegal dribble signal. Then, by popular request, the carry signal was reinstated about two years ago. This is in NF, of course.

Lotto Fri Nov 23, 2001 05:57pm

...and there's no carry signal in NCAA, at least not in the rule book, at least not this year.

MOFFICIAL Fri Nov 23, 2001 09:20pm

I have a question concerning the over and back call when a ball is passed into the front court to A1 who has both feet down, A1 touches the ball and then the ball goes into the backcourt. If any player from A is first touch I've got over and back.
What am I missing please reference NF rule.
Thanks

bob jenkins Fri Nov 23, 2001 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
I have a question concerning the over and back call when a ball is passed into the front court to A1 who has both feet down, A1 touches the ball and then the ball goes into the backcourt. If any player from A is first touch I've got over and back.
What am I missing please reference NF rule.
Thanks

The play in question was on a throw-in. There's no team control on a throw-in. There must be team control before you can have a backcourt violation.

To review, 4 items are needed for a backcourt violation:

1) Team control
2) Ball achieves front court status
3) A last to touch before ball obtains backcourt status
4) A first to touch after ball obtains backcourt status

Kelvin green Sat Nov 24, 2001 12:34am

Dont let the NBA rule confuse you. The fans will yell that its a backcourt violation. In the NBA except in the last two minutes ( I hope I have this one right) ball in front court must be thrown into the front court. This is where a major source of problems happen. You get too many people who watched the NBA on TNT last night want the same call tonight in a high school gym

MOFFICIAL Sat Nov 24, 2001 08:30am

Bob, Thanks for the reply.
My interpretation on my scenario which is ball inbounds and in control of team A passing to front court would have been correct.
It helps to air these things out with a partner.

[Edited by MOFFICIAL on Nov 24th, 2001 at 07:32 AM]

RecRef Sat Nov 24, 2001 09:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jeremy40
player 1A is inbounding under A's basket. player 1A inbounds the ball to player 2A at the top of the key. the ball tips off of player 2A's hand and rolls into the backcourt. 2A recovers the ball in the backcourt. is this over and back? i heard that player 2A must first establish possession of the ball before a backcourt call can be made.

Thank about your question in a different way. How many times have you seen this situation? A1 has a Spot throw-in on the side by the table or across from the table. A1 is standing, OOB, in his frontcourt side of the court. A2 is standing in the backcourt area and receives the inbounds pass. The call is no call. The 10 seconds count starts.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1