![]() |
During the first FT of a two shot foul, A1 and B1 violated the lane lines simultaneously during A2's free throw. What is the ruling? Do you clear the lane for the second FT and designate the spot to the team entitled to the alternating-possession throw-in?
|
No.
A double lane violation on the first shot simply negates that shot. The second FT proceeds as it normally would. |
Depends on what rules you are using, if NFHS then yes the above post is coorect. If NCAA, then I would try to get the first one, and not call a double. One of them had to go just slightly first.
|
Quote:
|
If B goes first, it's still a double violation, as long as it's not the shooter that violates. If A goes first, then we're done as soon as A violates. [/B][/QUOTE]
Good point,Todd! |
JR, yer buggin' me! That's twice.
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE] Why are you calling Tony... Todd? ;) mick |
In NCAA we are to call the first one. Tha is why it would not be a double violation, unless the shooter or someone from behind the line also violated.
|
I swear, ....
Tony SHOULD have been a Todd....LMAO :D
My apologies to TONY. |
Quote:
I can see it if A1 violates. You call disconcertion on B1. But I don't understand why you ignore the violation by A2. Based on what rule? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
[Edited by bob jenkins on Nov 18th, 2001 at 09:32 PM] |
Quote:
Quote:
[Edited by BktBallRef on Nov 18th, 2001 at 12:27 PM] |
Here's the rule
Sorry for the somewhat ambiguous pronouns in my previous post.
NCAA 9-2-4: When there is a lane violation by a teammate of the free-thrower and an opponent: (a.) When the first violation is by the free-thrower's team, the ball shall become dead when the violation occurs, no point shall be scored and play shall be resumed from a designated spot by awarding the ball to the opponent of the team that committed the first violation. (b.) When the first violation is by the opponent of the free-thrower's team and the try is successful, the goal shall count and the violation shall be disregarded. When the try is not successful, the ball shall become dead when the free throw ends and a substitute throw shall be attempted by the same free-thrower under the same conditions as those for the original free throw. (A.R. 9.) A1 and B1 violated the lane lines simultaneously during A2's free throw. Ruling: When the official is unable to discern which player committed the first violation, the ball shall be awarded at a designated spot to the team entitled to the alternating-possession throw-in. |
Quote:
[Edited by bob jenkins on Nov 18th, 2001 at 09:31 PM] |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23pm. |