![]()  | 
	
		
 Game fee and a tip 
		
		
		This happened about 3 weeks ago, but I never got around to sharing. Working a boys JV and on the opening jump ball, the ball is tapped to the ground and the home team jumper grabs it. Visiting HC is not happy. He insists it's a violation. I tell him that the jump ends when the ball hits the ground. He replies that I need to learn the rules. As I'm quickly trying to decide how to respond to that little outburst, he surprises me by wanting to make a wager. "I'll bet you you're wrong. I'll bet you anything. I'll bet you a year's salary." 
	I double-checked my rule book at halftime. I wasn't :cool: My partner and I had a good laugh as we chatted about how to break the news to the coach.  | 
		
 So how did the conversation go at the start of the third quarter?  :D 
	 | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 And? Do tell.  | 
		
 Well, did you get your game fee and tip? 
	 | 
		
 Whenever a coach wants to challenge me on a rule, I tell him I have a rulebook with me and we'll look it up.  If I'm wrong, I'll pay him $100, but if he's wrong, he has to wash my car. 
	So far, I haven't had any takers. :p  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 I did have one coach challenge me on a ruling in the first half of a Rec game. At half time I looked it up and showed it to him after the game - even seeing it in black and white he still didn't like it! :p  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 Second, with a JV Coach, I promise I would have torn that page out and gave it to him. Third, tell him to keep his money!  | 
		
 Ok so now I have a question.  I thought that a jumper could not be one of the people that gains of control after the tip, and as well if the ball hits the floor on a tip, the jump is redone.  We use NCAA, and I would presume your using Fed. rules.  So if this is the case great, but could someone set me straight. 
	 | 
		
 This discussion is geared around NFHS Rules.  A jumper may be the first to gain control only after the ball has touched the floor or a non jumper.  If the ball is tossed by the referee and comes down and hits the floor without being touched by either jumper, it's a re-do.  As long as the ball has been tipped by a jumper and then touched a non-jumper or the floor, then one of the jumpers may be the first to control the ball. 
	 | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 Sadly the coach was talking about his salary. If he were talking mine, I'd have been getting sworn statements from witnesses! :D In the end, my partner and I decided it really would serve no useful purpose to bring it up after the half. I was scheduled to see them again later in the week and I figured I'd tell him before that game that I had double-checked and I was right. If he chose to bring up the wager, I'd offer to go double-or-nothing so that I could at least buy lunch with my winnings. ;) But I got moved off that game (to a BJV/V DH) and now I won't see him until next year. Oh well.  | 
		
 I'd have let him know about it before the 2nd half. If you do it in a good way the coach will not get upset, but be glad you took the time to make sure you got it right. He did it in a joking way, so you could take that back at him and you'd probably have a pretty good rapport with him the rest of the night. I'd tell him the rule and page number you found it so he can look for himself. 
	 | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am. |