The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How do you call this? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32099-how-do-you-call.html)

ranjo Thu Feb 22, 2007 07:37am

How do you call this?
 
I have seen a similar thread in the past years, but can't find it now and can't remember how it ended.

A1 takes a short jumper from the free throw line. B1 turns toward the basket anticipating a possible rebound. The ball bounces off the backboard toward A1 who secures it and drives into the lane for a layup, but in the process contacts B1 from behind, knocking him to the floor as he makes the layup.

My problem is this: B1 did not have a legal guarding position as he was not facing his opponet, but he did get where he was first and he did get there legally.

Minor contact I would let go, but I'm not sure how to interpet the rules when there is excessive contact.

Block? Charge? No Call? How have some of you handled this?:confused:

Terrapins Fan Thu Feb 22, 2007 07:49am

I got an offensive foul ( player control ). no basket and we are going the other way, no free throws.

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 22, 2007 07:52am

Rule 4-23-1--<i>"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."</i> LGP doesn't affect that premise. If they now get run over by an opponent after attaining their <b>legal</b> spot, you can't call a foul on the player being run over. The options are either a no-call or a foul on the player doing the charging, depending on whether the contact was illegal or incidental.

ranjo Thu Feb 22, 2007 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rule 4-23-1--<i>"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."</i> LGP doesn't affect that premise. If they now get run over by an opponent after attaining their <b>legal</b> spot, you can't call a foul on the player being run over. The options are either a no-call or a foul on the player doing the charging, depending on whether the contact was illegal or incidental.


The good thing is that after it happened last night, I did call it correctly based on your interpertation. I just needed someone to to put it into perspective and help me differentiate between LGP and legal spot.

Thanks!

Nevadaref Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:20am

ranjo,
Do you have the Simplified & Illustrated book? My most recent copy is from 2005-06. Your play is depicted on page 27. The shooter is crashing into the back of a defender who is facing the basket and not the player with the ball. Here is the caption:

4-19-6 Number 5 has legal position on the court before No. 4 becomes airborne. The foul is on No. 4, the goal does not count if it is made because it is a player-control foul. A player-control foul causes the ball to become dead immediately. Number 4 is an airborne shooter after releasing the ball on a try until he returns to the floor.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:54pm

Just remember that LGP's only purpose is to allow the defense to be moving/jumping at the time of contact and still be able to draw a charge. If the player is not moving/jumping, they don't need LGP.

ranjo Thu Feb 22, 2007 03:30pm

[QUOTE=Nevadaref]ranjo,
Do you have the Simplified & Illustrated book? My most recent copy is from 2005-06. Your play is depicted on page 27. The shooter is crashing into the back of a defender who is facing the basket and not the player with the ball. Here is the caption:



I don't own the book nor have I ever had the oportunity to look at one, but I take it you would highly recomend it? I'm all for Simple & Illustrated!

WhistlesAndStripes Thu Feb 22, 2007 03:34pm

I recommend the comic book, as we so affectionately call it, to all new officials for the first couple of years.

deecee Thu Feb 22, 2007 03:38pm

you could also learn just as much from Forget Paris

WhistlesAndStripes Thu Feb 22, 2007 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
you could also learn just as much from Forget Paris

Nice flick.

lookin2improve Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:16pm

Would you apply the same rules interp for a sit where A1 and B1 fighting for rebound. B1 goes to the floor. A1 secures the ball and then subsequently falls over B1...travel or foul?:confused:

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
Nice flick.


I like the parts where Billy's dad reads all the businesses as the car drives.

"Toy-yo-ta. Barber shop. Gino's Pizza. ................." Yup, good flick.

Is Billy Crystal really 5'6", becuase that's how tall Spud Webb is, isn't he?

Nevadaref Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lookin2improve
Would you apply the same rules interp for a sit where A1 and B1 fighting for rebound. B1 goes to the floor. A1 secures the ball and then subsequently falls over B1...travel or foul?:confused:

I would call what it says in the old casebook play.

Mark Padgett Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
you could also learn just as much from Forget Paris

I'd like to forget Paris. Nicole, too. :rolleyes:

Adam Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I'd like to forget Paris. Nicole, too. :rolleyes:

And her little dog, too. Oh wait, that's what you meant.

TRef21 Wed Feb 28, 2007 02:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo
I have seen a similar thread in the past years, but can't find it now and can't remember how it ended.

A1 takes a short jumper from the free throw line. B1 turns toward the basket anticipating a possible rebound. The ball bounces off the backboard toward A1 who secures it and drives into the lane for a layup, but in the process contacts B1 from behind, knocking him to the floor as he makes the layup.

My problem is this: B1 did not have a legal guarding position as he was not facing his opponet, but he did get where he was first and he did get there legally.

Minor contact I would let go, but I'm not sure how to interpet the rules when there is excessive contact.

Block? Charge? No Call? How have some of you handled this?:confused:



I Have a CHARGE. . Remember everyone is entitled to a spot on the floor. B has established a guarding position on a player with out the ball. Time and distance shall be required to attain initial guarding position. He needs give no more than two strides on a player with out the ball, has to give the oppent time and distance and when A is airborne he must on the floor before A is in flight.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 28, 2007 03:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
I Have a CHARGE. . Remember everyone is entitled to a spot on the floor. B has established a guarding position on a player with out the ball. Time and distance shall be required to attain initial guarding position. He needs give no more than two strides on a player with out the ball, has to give the oppent time and distance and when A is airborne he must on the floor before A is in flight.

Tommy, while you have the call right, your reasoning is not fully correct. B1 has established a spot on the floor and is entitled to that spot having reached it first. However, nothing else which you wrote applies as A1 does have the ball in this scenario and B1 never establishes a guarding position on him. In fact, B1 never even attempts to guard A1. A1 merely runs him over from behind.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1