The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2001, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
Sitch A... A1 drives to the basket and goes up for a try, but misses the shot. A1's momentum carries him off the court, but immediately jumps back on the court and with one foot touching inbounds and the other foot in the air recovers the ball and life is fine again.... No violation

Sitch B... A1 driving down the sideline loses his balance and control of the ball. The ball remains in-bounds as A1 takes 2 steps out-of-bounds. A1 recovers and re-enters the court. With one foot on the court and the other in the air, A1 recovers the ball.

The situations seem similar... Are they treated the same? Or are there restrictions placed on A1 in Sitch B due to an interrupted dribble or loss of player control?

Seems like there would be no violation for being out-of-bounds and being the first to recover the ball since he didn't intentionally leave the court to gain an advantage. But would A1 be able to continue the dribble or would he just have to recover the ball and look for a pass or shot?
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1