The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31970-whats-call.html)

DESTRUCTO Sun Feb 18, 2007 01:57pm

What's the call?
 
A1 drives to basket and puts up a shot, A2 comes in from the other side of the basket anticipating a miss and goes up for the rebound and gets his hand caught in the net and knocks the ball back out of the basket. If ball position matters,it appeared to have broken the plane of the basket on the replay, but it wasn't in the bottom of the net.

This happened in the KY/AL game Saturday. The call was BI and waived off the points. Right call?

JRutledge Sun Feb 18, 2007 01:58pm

Sounds like they got it right.

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 18, 2007 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DESTRUCTO
A1 drives to basket and puts up a shot, A2 comes in from the other side of the basket anticipating a miss and goes up for the rebound and gets his hand caught in the net and knocks the ball back out of the basket. If ball position matters,it appeared to have broken the plane of the basket on the replay, but it wasn't in the bottom of the net.

This happened in the KY/AL game Saturday. The call was BI and waived off the points. Right call?

AFAIK, yes.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 18, 2007 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DESTRUCTO
A1 drives to basket and puts up a shot, A2 comes in from the other side of the basket anticipating a miss and goes up for the rebound and gets his hand caught in the net and knocks the ball back out of the basket. If ball position matters,it appeared to have broken the plane of the basket on the replay, but it wasn't in the bottom of the net.

This happened in the KY/AL game Saturday. The call was BI and waived off the points. Right call?

If the ball is touching the cylinder/basket and either team touches the net, it's BI. It's not necessary to touch the ball.

Scrapper1 Mon Feb 19, 2007 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
If the ball is touching the cylinder/basket and either team touches the net, it's BI.

If it's touching the imaginary cylinder, it's BI to touch the net?

jkjenning Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
If it's touching the imaginary cylinder, it's BI to touch the net?

The operative word was touching, so he meant the actual ring, not the imaginary cylinder.

Scrapper1 Tue Feb 20, 2007 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjenning
The operative word was touching, so he meant the actual ring, not the imaginary cylinder.

I know that, and you know that, but I didn't want anybody to get the idea that touching the basket while the ball is in the cylinder is BI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1