The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Was this the correct call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31825-correct-call.html)

LouisianaDave Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:19am

Was this the correct call
 
In a close game, my partner T's up Team A's head coach. After the first shot is made,Team B's asst coach jumps up and screams YEAH, my other partner T's up Team B for taunting. After all the free throw's are shot is it team A's ball or do we go to arrow. We gave the ball to team a since it was dead ball tech's but I wasnt sure if we were correct, hence my question.

Thanks in advance.

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:39am

I'm assuming NFHS rules. You got this correct. Team A ball.

JRutledge Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:51am

This is Team A's ball because the last T was on B. This is not a double T so you are cannot use the arrow. Just administer this in the order in which everything took place.

Peace

crazy voyager Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LouisianaDave
In a close game, my partner T's up Team A's head coach. After the first shot is made,Team B's asst coach jumps up and screams YEAH, my other partner T's up Team B for taunting. After all the free throw's are shot is it team A's ball or do we go to arrow. We gave the ball to team a since it was dead ball tech's but I wasnt sure if we were correct, hence my question.

Thanks in advance.

All FT's?
I'm not sure, but wouldn't there just be one more FT.
B got 2, and shots 1
then B gets T'd, and A is awarded 2
remove one ft for A and one for B, then shot A's last FT, then go to the arrow?
at least that is what I would do...
remember I'm thinkng fiba (unless you've learned that by now :p)

Junker Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:37am

How did you keep a straight face during this situation? Too funny!:D

Adam Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
All FT's?
I'm not sure, but wouldn't there just be one more FT.
B got 2, and shots 1
then B gets T'd, and A is awarded 2
remove one ft for A and one for B, then shot A's last FT, then go to the arrow?
at least that is what I would do...
remember I'm thinkng fiba (unless you've learned that by now :p)

Unless they occur at virtually the same time, it's not a double foul. This would be a false double foul, and false doubles are fully penalized in the order in which they occur. No free throws cancel out. You would never go to the arrow here. NFHS rules.

deecee Wed Feb 14, 2007 01:24pm

Out of curiosity -- close game -- assistant shows excitement because for all we know this could put them up by 1 with 3 seconds to go -- and thats taunting? how did he say it? from what I read i dunno

Junker Wed Feb 14, 2007 01:28pm

The assistant wasn't spontaniously celebrating a play or instructing his players. He should have stayed on the bench and kept his mouth shut. I thought the situation was kind of funny. He hops up to celebrate a coach getting whacked and ends up getting whacked himself...classic:D

deecee Wed Feb 14, 2007 01:51pm

said after the first shot he shouted yeah!! hows that taunting -- seems weak to me -- unless there was something else that I am not reading. CLOSE GAME -- COULD BE THE GAME WINNER --

lets all do the robot dance

Raymond Wed Feb 14, 2007 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
Out of curiosity -- close game -- assistant shows excitement because for all we know this could put them up by 1 with 3 seconds to go -- and thats taunting? how did he say it? from what I read i dunno

Getting up, yelling "yeah" on a free throw? You consider that a spontaneous reaction to a great play?

eg-italy Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
All FT's?
I'm not sure, but wouldn't there just be one more FT.
B got 2, and shots 1
then B gets T'd, and A is awarded 2
remove one ft for A and one for B, then shot A's last FT, then go to the arrow?
at least that is what I would do...
remember I'm thinking fiba (unless you've learned that by now :p)

Not at all, neither in FIBA. The ball has already become live while administering the penalty for the T on A's coach. So this penalty cannot be used any more to cancel out other penalties (42.2.5). Shoot the second FT, then two FTs for team A and ball to A at the division line (FIBA rules, of course). Team B's possession is lost because there is a subsequent penalty to administer (42.2.4).

Ciao


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1