The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in rule reference (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31779-throw-rule-reference.html)

MikeCapps Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:36pm

Throw in rule reference
 
Happened in a girls varsity game I watched and the situation was posted on our association forum.

Designated spot throw in about 8 feet from the lane line.
A1 releases the ball out of bounds across the baseline toward a player on the other side of the basket.

B1 sticks out her foot and kicks the ball on the out of bounds side of the plane. The throw in pass was released and at least 3 feet out of the throwers hand.

Obviously we have a kicked ball violation and a clock re-set here in California, but is this a throw in violation? Is it a warning situation? Is it a technical foul.

All rule references I can find say that opponent of the thrower may not have any part of their person through the boundary until the ball is released on the throw in.
9-2-article 3.

The offensive team may not touch a throw ball on a designated spot throw in on the out of bounds side, but I can find no rule reference for the defense.

If this were after a made basket and the thrower was throwing to a teammate out of bounds then we have a technical.

It is obviously a technical if the ball is touched or slapped out of the hands of the thrower while in his/her possesion.

In this case the ball was released.

A technical was issued and other in our association feel the same way, but I cannot fine anything in the rule book that would support this.

Any help, as in a rule reference, would be appreciated.

Thankyou

PYRef Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:44pm

This is a kicking violation on team B. It doesn't matter that it was over the OOB line after the thrower released the ball. No throw-in violation on A.

Quote:

Obviously we have a kicked ball violation and a clock re-set here in California, but is this a throw in violation? Is it a warning situation? Is it a technical foul.
No
No
No

Splute Mon Feb 12, 2007 03:34pm

No violation for crossing OOB with ball before throw in unless A1 steps onto court. Case Book 7.6.3 Sit A, implies this.

SamIAm Mon Feb 12, 2007 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeCapps
Happened in a girls varsity game I watched and the situation was posted on our association forum.
Designated spot throw in about 8 feet from the lane line.
A1 releases the ball out of bounds across the baseline toward a player on the other side of the basket.
B1 sticks out her foot and kicks the ball on the out of bounds side of the plane. The throw in pass was released and at least 3 feet out of the throwers hand.
Obviously we have a kicked ball violation and a clock re-set here in California, but is this a throw in violation? Is it a warning situation? Is it a technical foul.

All rule references I can find say that opponent of the thrower may not have any part of their person through the boundary until the ball is released on the throw in.
9-2-article 3.

The offensive team may not touch a throw ball on a designated spot throw in on the out of bounds side, but I can find no rule reference for the defense.
If this were after a made basket and the thrower was throwing to a eammate out of bounds then we have a technical.
It is obviously a technical if the ball is touched or slapped out of the hands of the thrower while in his/her possesion.In this case the ball was released.
A technical was issued and other in our association feel the same way, but I cannot fine anything in the rule book that would support this.
Any help, as in a rule reference, would be appreciated.
Thankyou

It is a warning for crossing the oob plane on a throw-in. Whistle, warn and try again. T if it happens again.

Edited - This post is incorrect for NFHS. See Snaqwells and Nevada posts below.

Adam Mon Feb 12, 2007 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
It is a warning for crossing the oob plane on a throw-in. Whistle, warn and try again. T if it happens again.

Not unless you see the foot across before the ball was released. Chances are, the foot swung after the release; simple kicking violation as the restrictions on the defense end when the ball is released for a throwin pass.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 12, 2007 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Not unless you see the foot across before the ball was released. Chances are, the foot swung after the release; simple kicking violation as the restrictions on the defense end when the ball is released for a throwin pass.

This is correct for NFHS rules. Anyone who would charge a delay of game warning or a technical foul for this action is wrong. Once the throw-in pass is released the defender may break the boundary plane.

The NCAA rule is different. That may be the source of the confusion of some of these other officials. Under NCAA rules the defender may not break the boundary plane until the ball does!

Indianaref Tue Feb 13, 2007 09:40am

I am a new official so I need clarification here. The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. However, the throw-in pass can be touched by an opponent while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane.

Nevadaref Tue Feb 13, 2007 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
I am a new official so I need clarification here. The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. However, the throw-in pass can be touched by an opponent while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane.

That is correct.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 13, 2007 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This is correct for NFHS rules. Anyone who would charge a delay of game warning or a technical foul for this action is wrong. Once the throw-in pass is released the defender may break the boundary plane.

The NCAA rule is different. That may be the source of the confusion of some of these other officials. Under NCAA rules the defender may not break the boundary plane until the ball does!

And, for the NFHS, this didn't used to be the case.

The former version of the rule specified a T for a defender touching the ball on the OOB side of the throwin plane. It was not poorly worded or unclear. However, a few years ago, they "clarified" the rule and added something like "while in the hands of the thrower". Not exacly a clarification but a fundamental difference from what was previously printed. Pherhaps it was what had been desired all along, but it was certainly not a clarification of what had been written.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:19am

While I remember the rewording, Camron, I do not believe that the rule itself has changed in the past ten years for the NFHS. I'll have to do some research on this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1