The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tipoff question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31755-tipoff-question.html)

johnsatchmo Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:28am

Tipoff question
 
Okay so the two tippers go up for the ball and both hit the ball but it falls straight back down to the floor. After it hits the floor and bounces back up one of the tippers bats it to one of his teammates. Is this a violation? I'd look it up by my rulebook is in the mail.

tjones1 Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:40am

Legal. The jumper shall not touch the ball more than twice. However, this ends whenever the touched ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, the floor, a basket or backboard.

6-3-7

Nevadaref Mon Feb 12, 2007 01:04am

As tanner wrote, the jump ball is over on your play when the ball hits the floor. Therefore, even if one of the two jumpers now grabbed the ball instead of batting it to a teammate, it would be a legal play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1