The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3-pointer wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31744-3-pointer-wrong-basket.html)

daver318 Sun Feb 11, 2007 02:03pm

3-pointer wrong basket
 
Player on Team A shoots what he thinks is a 3-point attempt, but it is at the wrong basket and goes in. I know Team B gets the points, but do they get 2 points or 3?

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 11, 2007 02:18pm

Two points. It's not a try.

mplagrow Sun Feb 11, 2007 02:39pm

No 3's at the wrong hoop. Just two.

tjones1 Sun Feb 11, 2007 02:54pm

What if it was tipped by the defense?

Scrapper1 Sun Feb 11, 2007 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
What if it was tipped by the defense?

Would that make it a try? :confused:

tjones1 Sun Feb 11, 2007 03:10pm

Suppose it could be, if you considered it a tap.

Mark Padgett Sun Feb 11, 2007 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Would that make it a try? :confused:

Yeah - actually it would. See NF 4-41-5 and 4-41-6. I didn't realize it could happen that way until I carefully read those two rules.

Texas Aggie Sun Feb 11, 2007 03:32pm

It doesn't matter if its a try, tap, or thrown ball. In order to receive 3 points per (NF) 5.2.1, it must be "behind the team's own" 3 point line. I guess one could argue that if a player were at the other end of the court, he is technically "behind" the team's 3 point line, but reading the rest of the rule same makes it clear that its only 2 points: "A ball that touches ... any other goal... counts 2 points."

Mark Padgett Sun Feb 11, 2007 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
It doesn't matter if its a try, tap, or thrown ball. In order to receive 3 points per (NF) 5.2.1, it must be "behind the team's own" 3 point line. I guess one could argue that if a player were at the other end of the court, he is technically "behind" the team's 3 point line, but reading the rest of the rule same makes it clear that its only 2 points: "A ball that touches ... any other goal... counts 2 points."

OK - try this scenario:

A1 is outside team B's 3 point line and so is B1. A1 mistakenly shoots towards B's basket and B1 taps the ball in flight (remember, B1 is also outside B's 3 point line). According to 4-40-6, "A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal..." and 5-2-1 says "A successful try tap or thrown ball from the field by a player located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points." To me, that means that if B1 is inside his own 3 point line when he taps the ball, it's a three.

Ref Daddy Sun Feb 11, 2007 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
What if it was tipped by the defense?

No Goal Tending or BI either ... not a try!

BktBallRef Sun Feb 11, 2007 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Daddy
No Goal Tending or BI either ... not a try!

Not true. You could have BI.

Scrapper1 Sun Feb 11, 2007 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
A1 is outside team B's 3 point line and so is B1. A1 mistakenly shoots towards B's basket and B1 taps the ball in flight (remember, B1 is also outside B's 3 point line). According to 4-40-6, "A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal..."

But the question was not about a tap. A tap is intentionally directing the ball toward the basket. This is a case where a confused player shot at the wrong goal and another confused player tried to block it, but only got one finger on it. That's not a tap in my game.

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 11, 2007 06:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But the question was not about a tap. A tap is intentionally directing the ball toward the basket. This is a case where a confused player shot at the wrong goal and another confused player tried to block it, but only got one finger on it. That's not a tap in my game.

That's not a tap in <b>any</b> game.

Mark Padgett Sun Feb 11, 2007 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
That's not a tap in <b>any</b> game.

What if on it's upwards flight, B1 taps it toward his own basket? Ya, I know this is a bazillion to one chance, and if it ever happens, I hope you get it on tape. :)

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 11, 2007 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
What if on it's upwards flight, B1 taps it toward his own basket? Ya, I know this is a bazillion to one chance, and if it ever happens, I hope you get it on tape. :)

If you think that B1 was deliberately trying to direct the ball into his basket, and B1 was also outside the arc when he tapped the ball, you could call it a 3. If B1 has his back to the basket though, he shouldn't ever get that call. Iow, a bazillion to one is just about right.:)

mplagrow Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If you think that B1 was deliberately trying to direct the ball into his basket, and B1 was also outside the arc when he tapped the ball, you could call it a 3. If B1 has his back to the basket though, he shouldn't ever get that call. Iow, a bazillion to one is just about right.:)

You know, I had exactly that sitch last week. . . .:p

tjones1 Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
You know, I had exactly that sitch last week. . . .:p

And your ruling was...??


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1