The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Did I get it right? She only got one FT

This morning - girls game - middle of the first half, and Team A's coach has been barking at me and my parnter the whole time. His team is called for a 5-second OOB violation and he is furious and calls us both "complete morons" at the top of his lungs when I'm right next to him. *WHACK*

My partner goes to administer the FTs and mistakenly tells the players 1 FT (I wasn't paying close enough attention)....B1 misses the FT and my partner gives Team A the ball and they inbounds. At this point, I note to myself that she should get another FT. But he ball is in play now, Team A misses a shot at their goal, Team B rebounds, comes back down and makes a layup. I stop the clock and alert the benches that Team B has an unawarded FT.

B1 shoots her second FT, after which Team A gets the ball OOB under Team B's basket.

Did I make the right call? Should I have stopped the play as soon as the ball became live? Should I have waited for the next dead ball?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
1.) IMO, you handle it correctly by awarding B the second free throw lane cleared with A unrestricted throw in anywhere along the endline.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 06:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
My partner goes to administer the FTs and mistakenly tells the players 1 FT (I wasn't paying close enough attention)....B1 misses the FT and my partner gives Team A the ball and they inbounds. At this point, I note to myself that she should get another FT. But he ball is in play now, Team A misses a shot at their goal, Team B rebounds, comes back down and makes a layup. I stop the clock and alert the benches that Team B has an unawarded FT.

B1 shoots her second FT, after which Team A gets the ball OOB under Team B's basket.

1) Did I make the right call?
2) Should I have stopped the play as soon as the ball became live?
3)Should I have waited for the next dead ball?
1) Yes
2) Yes
3) No

You stop play as soon as you realize the FT shooter had another free throw coming. You then correct as long as you have stopped play within the prescribed time limits.

Good job.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 115
Why did team "A "get the ball after 1st free throw? In either rule set, NCAA or NFHS "B" should have throw in from T in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 07:56pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfd21
Why did team "A "get the ball after 1st free throw? In either rule set, NCAA or NFHS "B" should have throw in from T in this situation.
In both rulesets you go to the POI after you correct the error. The POI when play was stopped was after team B had scored on the layup. Therefore the POI is team A's ball for an unrestricted endline throw-in after a made basket.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 08:00pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
I think he's talking about after the first technical foul free throw, why was the other team given the ball for a throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 08:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
I think he's talking about after the first technical foul free throw, why was the other team given the ball for a throw in.
Oh, probably because the official screwed up....

WFD is right. Team B should have got the throw-in. Be that as it may though, giving the wrong team that throw-in isn't correctable after the throw-in was touched on the court. The failure to award the merited FT is correctable. And after you award the merited FT, you go to the POI, which is still an A endline throw-in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1