The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   charge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31646-charge.html)

clips2 Thu Feb 08, 2007 05:17pm

charge
 
in high school,
is and if so, where does a charge end under the basket, is this imaginary 3 ft under the basket as the nba. or is there a charge is a charge is a charge no matter where the defense is..

JRutledge Thu Feb 08, 2007 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by clips2
in high school,
is and if so, where does a charge end under the basket

It doesn't.

Peace

TimTaylor Thu Feb 08, 2007 05:40pm

What Jeff said.

A player is entitled to his position anywhere on the court. A PC foul is a PC foul, no matter where on the court the defender is standing.

BoomerSooner Fri Feb 09, 2007 05:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor
What Jeff said.

A player is entitled to his position anywhere on the court. A PC foul is a PC foul, no matter where on the court the defender is standing.

I wouldn't be so quick to say "no matter where". Depending on your definition of the court, I'm not going to hand out too many PC fouls if the defender is standing OOB.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 09, 2007 05:30am

Any spot on the floor is good for a defender in NFHS as well as NCAA MEN.

10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 09, 2007 07:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
I wouldn't be so quick to say "no matter where". <font color = red>Depending on your definition of the court</font>, I'm not going to hand out too many PC fouls if the defender is standing OOB.

They're using the exact same definition of the court that the rule book does in rules 1-1 and 4-13. OOB is not part of the court, by rule.

26 Year Gap Fri Feb 09, 2007 08:28am

And if the defender even has one foot on the line, he is not in legal guarding position. So, unless the offensive player comes in with a Killer Kowalski flying elbow, it is no call or a block.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 09, 2007 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
And if the defender even has one foot on the line, he is not in legal guarding position. So, unless the offensive player comes in with a Killer Kowalski flying elbow, it is no call or a block.

Killer Kowalski?

Man, are you dating yourself.:D

mick Fri Feb 09, 2007 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Killer Kowalski?

Man, are you dating yourself.:D

...And the Iron Claw. :)

Zoochy Fri Feb 09, 2007 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Killer Kowalski?

Man, are you dating yourself.:D

He's dating himself????
:eek: So, does the right hand give the left hand flowers?:D
Which side is the 'Iron Claw'?:rolleyes:

Jimgolf Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:14am

The charge doesn't end in the circle in the NBA, either. The circle only applies to help defenders.

If the offensive player charges into the primary defender, it's still a foul no matter where it occurs.

Ignats75 Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:18am

Quote:

He's dating himself????
So, does the right hand give the left hand flowers?
Which side is the 'Iron Claw'?
Now we know why the crowd keeps telling him that he's blind!:eek: :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1