![]() |
Team without possession calls time out during live ball
Team A on offense was in there front court moving towards the basket when I heard time out requested. Like a rookie I blew my whistle before I realized it was by Team B the defense that called the time out . I tried to correct it by giving the ball back to team A for a throw-in but my partner (with more experience) stopped me and said it was an inadvertant whistle and we need to go to the possession arrow which went to team B. I dont feel that was the right or fair call and couldnt find it in the book. We were playing NCAA rules. Can anyone give me a reference for this?
|
Go with POI
Rule 7 5:21 |
Rule 6 Section 3 Art 1.G
Play on, unless there is no player or Team Control, then you go to the AP.:D |
that is completely wrong -- i dont have my rulebook here to give you reference but inadvertant whistle ALWAYS goes POI -- you only go to the possession arrow if there was no team possession -- like a loose ball or rebound or during a shot.
in this case once you blew your whistle team B can now call their timeout -- Team A ball after the TO is over. you screwed up but oh well its not that big a deal. but more experience doesnt mean he knows whats right because what he did was WAY wrong. ALWAYS GOES POI -- point of interruption on an inadvertant whistle. |
5.8.3. Grant time out then resume POI.
|
Sorry that was 5.8.3E
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In NCAA, it's an inadvertent whistle and you go to POI which is Team A's possession. Quote:
And Philz, your partner was completely wrong. |
Oops
:o Deecee, wfd21 and smoref hit it on the money.
As you said, you blew the whistle with Team A having Player/Team control. Ball is now dead. Team B can request and be granted TO. Return play w/POI. Thus Team A has the ball OOB at the location of the ball when you blew the whistle. |
This definetly falls under 5.8.3E
|
The OP clearly stated that this was under NCAA rules. NCAA and NFHS handle this play differently.
In the NCAA rulebook 5-8.3 covers Extra Periods and sections 5-9 through 5-14 cover Timeouts. |
Quote:
See thread below http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=29802 |
Actually this is the prior thread that deals with loose ball/inadvertent whistle.
Although my other attachment is about granting TO. http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=29772 |
yes it seems sloppy however correct by the rules...and also the T for the coach who wanted an AP throw in. maybe chuck should get in here and make this a change for next year -- or at least an exception.
inadvertant whistle during loose ball goes to arrow. seems fair and right to do it this way. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
as in where there is team control but no player control.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
snaq no change to what?
|
Quote:
2) I disagree with your proposed change. Using the arrow on an inadvertant whistle when there is team control but no player control would be a disadvantage to the "offense." |
1) why use a quote when I responded to your question about define a loose ball
2) how is this not a disadvantage to the defense as well? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
trying to keep you on your toes -- but do you appreciate it NOOOOOOOO -- :)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm. |