The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Where is the throw in after the second of (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31195-where-throw-after-second.html)

TheSlav Wed Jan 24, 2007 04:26pm

Where is the throw in after the second of
 
two free throws is missed by an air ball? Ordinary personal foul, no techs or flagrant, HS rules. Is it end line of FT line extended?

bob jenkins Wed Jan 24, 2007 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheSlav
two free throws is missed by an air ball? Ordinary personal foul, no techs or flagrant, HS rules. Is it end line of FT line extended?


End line; spot throw in

BayStateRef Wed Jan 24, 2007 04:28pm

Yes. It is.

jmaellis Wed Jan 24, 2007 04:36pm

I think the OP is asking if the throw in, if the final free throw completely misses the rim/backboard, is at the end of the free throw line prolongated. IOW on the sideline. He's asking if the free throw line is the POI.

At least I think that is what he's asking.

blindzebra Wed Jan 24, 2007 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
I think the OP is asking if the throw in, if the final free throw completely misses the rim/backboard, is at the end of the free throw line prolongated. IOW on the sideline. He's asking if the free throw line is the POI.

At least I think that is what he's asking.

Look at the throw-in chart, the circle, above the free throw line is part of the lane, so any violation from that spot goes to the endline. So even if you applied POI, which it isn't, it would still be an endline throw-in.

BoomerSooner Thu Jan 25, 2007 02:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
I think the OP is asking if the throw in, if the final free throw completely misses the rim/backboard, is at the end of the free throw line prolongated. IOW on the sideline. He's asking if the free throw line is the POI.

At least I think that is what he's asking.

Also be sure to note that if the ball hits only the backboard you still have a violation. The FT try needs to hit the rim or enter the basket to avoid a violation. Futhermore, as has been noted this violation would result in a spot throw-in from the baseline, lane-line extended. Assuming the FT shooter is standing at the mid-point of the FT line, I usually administer the throw-in on the lane-line extended closest to where I am. I would imagine though that if a shooter took his position on the far right or left side of the FT line, I would administer at the spot closest to where the FT was released.

Ignats75 Thu Jan 25, 2007 07:55am

What if the coach said "Could I have the spot on the other side?":D

IREFU2 Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
What if the coach said "Could I have the spot on the other side?":D

Always take it out on table side since on free throw, that is where the administering official is located.

deecee Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:09pm

if the coach asks then just walk over to the other endline and administer the throw in...as long as he asks nicely of course.

JRutledge Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
What if the coach said "Could I have the spot on the other side?":D

He does not have a choice. The officials determine the spots. ;)

Peace

j51969 Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:21pm

I agree with jrut. Table side throw in, your already there. If a coach wants a certain spot to run a play, I'm sorry that's kind of silly. If he's that concerned he should draw up plays for both sides.

IREFU2 Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:30pm

If it was 3-man, he wouldnt even have that choice!:D

RookieDude Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BoomerSooner
Also be sure to note that if the ball hits only the backboard you still have a violation.
Once the ball hits the backboard...is it OK for the players along the lane to move into the lane...or do they have to wait for the ball to hit the rim?
(learning tool);)

deecee Thu Jan 25, 2007 01:36pm

technically the rule says rim -- but use some judgement here please

Scrapper1 Thu Jan 25, 2007 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
if the coach asks then just walk over to the other endline and administer the throw in.

You're going to allow the other team to get their throw-in under their own basket? On the other endline? ;) (Sorry, couldn't help myself!)

j51969 Thu Jan 25, 2007 02:00pm

Rule 9-1-10 The restrictions in Articles 6 through 9 apply until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends. So everyone can enter the lane. However, if the ball doesn't touch ring at some point on the try by the shooter it's a violation.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 25, 2007 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
technically the rule says rim -- but use some judgement here please

Howintheheck could you <b>ever</b> use any kind of judgement on a call like this?:confused: There's absolutely <b>NO</b> judgement involved. The ball either hits the ring or it doesn't. It's like a player with the ball stepping on a boundary line. They either step on the line or they don't step on the line.

IREFU2 Thu Jan 25, 2007 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Howintheheck could you <b>ever</b> use any kind of judgement on a call like this?:confused: There's absolutely <b>NO</b> judgement involved. The ball either hits the ring or it doesn't. It's like a player with the ball stepping on a boundary line. They either step on the line or they don't step on the line.

I concur, no rim, we have a violation. I think we may have some street ball rules going on here!!!!!

Nevadaref Thu Jan 25, 2007 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Howintheheck could you ever use any kind of judgement on a call like this?:confused: There's absolutely NO judgement involved. The ball either hits the ring or it doesn't. It's like a player with the ball stepping on a boundary line. They either step on the line or they don't step on the line.

The same way that he fails to enforce the coaching box, if the coach is just coaching. :(

BTW, deecee did you see that latest memo from the NCAA on the enforcement of the coaching box? :p

deecee Thu Jan 25, 2007 03:04pm

you mean to tell me you can tell some of those close grazes in 2 man -- with lot of banging in the paint -- sometimes the ball hitting the rim is NOT so obvious -- nice that you can read the rule book -- talk about real world applications where the ball doesnt always hit the rim obviously and bounce sideways after it does...

bob jenkins Thu Jan 25, 2007 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude
Once the ball hits the backboard...is it OK for the players along the lane to move into the lane...or do they have to wait for the ball to hit the rim?
(learning tool);)

The players can move in when the ball hits the backboard or the rim. The FT is "illegal" if it hits only the backboard (and doesn't enter the basket).

j51969 Thu Jan 25, 2007 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
you mean to tell me you can tell some of those close grazes in 2 man -- with lot of banging in the paint -- sometimes the ball hitting the rim is NOT so obvious -- nice that you can read the rule book -- talk about real world applications where the ball doesnt always hit the rim obviously and bounce sideways after it does...

I don't understand. Either you see it or you don't. how does that change the way you apply the rule. If you think it graze the rim you don't call it. If you don't you call it. Under what circumstances would it not hit and you would let it go?

deecee Thu Jan 25, 2007 05:18pm

and that is where your judgement comes in -- you must judge whether it hit the rim or not in those instances. It is 99% of the time black and white but once or twice a year it gets gray -- this also happens on free throws.
I am not saying to let it go on a non hit -- I am saying that the actual contact at times is up to your judgment. and in the other thread with the SEC official getting in trouble thats what it came down to and it was a big call/no-call when it happened. thats all


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1