The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How to handle (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31189-how-handle.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Jan 24, 2007 02:13pm

How to handle
 
OK, because this post involves a few changes of possession, I'm going to call the teams White and Black, since A and B for Offense and Defense may get easily mixed up.

White 32 is fouled while dribbling the ball. Official reports the foul and then gives White 32 a one and one bonus ft. White 32 hits both FTs.

Black throws the ball in, goes downcourt, and white steals the ball on a pass. White brings the ball up, dribbles the ball upcourt, and dribbles it off their foot. Black 23 picks up the loose ball and heads upcourt. NOTE: There has been no dead ball since the ball was thrown in after the 2nd made free throw. As black 23 goes in for a layup, he is fouled in the act of shooting by White 45. After the foul is reported, the table notifies the official that back when White 23 was awarded a one and one, that was only the 6th team foul, not the 7th.

What do you do next? Please site rulebook references.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 24, 2007 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
OK, because this post involves a few changes of possession, I'm going to call the teams White and Black, since A and B for Offense and Defense may get easily mixed up.

White 32 is fouled while dribbling the ball. Official reports the foul and then gives White 32 a one and one bonus ft. White 32 hits both FTs.

Black throws the ball in, goes downcourt, and white steals the ball on a pass. White brings the ball up, dribbles the ball upcourt, and dribbles it off their foot. Black 23 picks up the loose ball and heads upcourt. NOTE: There has been no dead ball since the ball was thrown in after the 2nd made free throw. As black 23 goes in for a layup, he is fouled in the act of shooting by White 45. After the foul is reported, the table notifies the official that back when White <font color = red>23</font> was awarded a one and one, that was only the 6th team foul, not the 7th.

What do you do next? Please site rulebook references.

Should be white 32?

Cancel both of White 32's FT's. Rule 2-10-1(b), rule 2-10-2 & rule 2-10-4. Go to the POI as per rule 2-10-6. The POI is Black 23's first free throw. Put black 23 on the line with the lanes filled and give him 2 FT's. Rule 4-36-2(b).

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Jan 24, 2007 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Should be white 32?

Cancel both of White 32's FT's. Rule 2-10-1(b), rule 2-10-2 & rule 2-10-4. Go to the POI as per rule 2-10-6. The POI is Black 23's first free throw. Put black 23 on the line with the lanes filled and give him 2 FT's. Rule 4-36-2(b).

Yes, should be white 32

Scrapper1 Wed Jan 24, 2007 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Cancel both of White 32's FT's. Rule 2-10-1(b), rule 2-10-2 & rule 2-10-4. Go to the POI as per rule 2-10-6. The POI is Black 23's first free throw. Put black 23 on the line with the lanes filled and give him 2 FT's. Rule 4-36-2(b).

Without pontificating (my eyesight's already bad enough), I agree.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1