The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   contact/violation during free throw (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31183-contact-violation-during-free-throw.html)

refnjoe Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:10am

contact/violation during free throw
 
Ball at the disposal of A1, who is attempting 2nd of 2 free throws. B1, attempting to box out, extends arm in front of A2. A2 attempts to push B1's arm back, and arms push back and forth. A2's push then causes B1 to step into lane.

What's the call?

Scrapper1 Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
What's the call?

"Knock it off, ladies!"

Adam Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:55am

Double foul.

FrankHtown Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
"Knock it off, ladies!"

Ok...the soda just sprayed out of my nose

refnjoe Wed Jan 24, 2007 01:16pm

Say we go with double foul...

Double foul goes to POI. So do you blow whistle, report, then shoot original free throw?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 24, 2007 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
Say we go with double foul...

Double foul goes to POI. So do you blow whistle, report, then shoot original free throw?

Yup. Rule 4-36-2(b)

refnjoe Wed Jan 24, 2007 02:00pm

thanks Jurassic.

That brings me to the next question. What happens if you have:
1) foul by A2, causing B1 to violate
2) foul by B1, causing A2 to violate

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 24, 2007 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
thanks Jurassic.

That brings me to the next question. What happens if you have:
1) foul by A2, causing B1 to violate
2) foul by B1, causing A2 to violate

In both cases, call the foul and ignore the violation.

refnjoe Wed Jan 24, 2007 04:53pm

OK, so what's the penalty? Any impact on the free throw itself?

Any rule or case references specific to activity during a free throw attempt?

Thanks so much!

bob jenkins Wed Jan 24, 2007 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
OK, so what's the penalty? Any impact on the free throw itself?

Any rule or case references specific to activity during a free throw attempt?

Thanks so much!

It's the same as any other foul during a live ball; the continuous motion rules apply.

refnjoe Wed Jan 24, 2007 08:15pm

Since the foul isnt on the shooter, Im not sure how continuous motion applies??

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 24, 2007 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
Since the foul isnt on the shooter, Im not sure how continuous motion applies??

What BJ is getting at is that if an opponent of the FT shooter commits a foul while the shooter has started his shooting motion but still has the ball in his hands, you allow the FT shooter to complete the free throw and then penalize the foul.

Rule 6-7EXCEPTION(c) and case book plays 6.7SitC,D&E

It can get a l'il confusing at times, can't it, Joe?:)

Nevadaref Wed Jan 24, 2007 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
Since the foul isnt on the shooter, Im not sure how continuous motion applies??

Continuous motion applies to fouls by the defense whether the foul is on the shooter or not. This was even a recent NFHS clarification.

CONTINUOUS MOTION
6.7 COMMENT: If an opponent fouls after A1 has started to throw for goal, A1 is permitted to complete the customary arm movement; and, if A1 is pivoting or stepping when A1 or a teammate is fouled, A1 may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity, as long as A1 is still holding the ball. If A1 starts a dribble, the “continuous motion” immediately ends. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs. The continuous-motion rule applies to a free-throw try as well as to a field-goal try or tap for goal. However, in a tap for goal, the motion does not begin until the ball is touched. The “continuous-motion” provision does not apply to batting or tipping the ball during rebounding or a jump ball. In these cases, A1 is not considered as being in the act of trying or tapping for goal. If an opponent commits a foul during this type of action before the ball is in flight, the foul causes the ball to become dead immediately. In rebounding, the ball is not always batted. It might be caught in one hand and then thrown into the basket with a snap of the wrist or fingers or touched and tapped toward the basket. Under these circumstances, an official is justified in ruling that it is a try or tap instead of a bat. Continuous motion is of significance only when there is a personal or technical foul by B after the trying or tapping motion by A1 is started and before the ball is in flight. It includes any body, foot or arm motion normally used in trying for a field goal or free throw, and it ends when the ball leaves the hand(s) on the try or tap. (4-11)
6.7 SITUATION C: Under what circumstances does the ball remain live when a foul occurs just prior to the ball being in flight during a try or tap? RULING: The ball would ordinarily become dead at once, but it remains live if the foul is by the defense, and this foul occurs after A1 has started the try or tap for goal and time does not expire before the ball is in flight. The foul by the defense may be either personal or technical and the exception to the rule applies to field goal tries and taps and free-throw tries. (4-11; 4-41-1)
6.7 SITUATION D: A1 has started a try for a goal (is in the act of shooting), but the ball is not yet in flight when the official blows the whistle for B2 fouling A2. A1's try is successful. RULING: Score the goal by A1. If Team A is in the bonus, A2 will shoot free throws. If not, Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest to where the foul occurred. COMMENT: The foul by the defense need not be on the player in the act of shooting for continuous motion principles to apply. (6-7 Exception c)
6.7 SITUATION E: Prior to the bonus and after A1 starts the free-throwing motion: B5 fouls A5. RULING: The “continuous motion” rule applies and A1 may release the ball and if the throw is successful, the point counts. Award Team A the ball out-of-bounds at the spot nearest to where B5 fouled A5. (4-19-12)

refnjoe Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:18pm

Yes, it can get confusing. That's why I can't imagine doing this without this forum!

Im gathering, that based on the continuous motion principle, if the free throw shooter is in the act of shooting and a defensive foul occurs, it is probably best to hold the whistle until the shot has been released.

But the more you answer, the more questions I have!!

1) If the defensive player causes the offensive player to violate prior to the shot, Im thinking to blow the whistle immediately and report the foul. Then complete initial free throw, and administer additional free throw to offended offensive player (if A is in bonus). Correct?

2) If there is no violation, but enough contact to merit calling a defensive foul, should I hold the whistle to see if shot is good?

3) If the scenario is reversed, and the foul is on the offensive player, blow whistle immediately, and no shot?

Gotta love all the nuances of this great sport!!

Thanks again for the help.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 25, 2007 03:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe

1) If the defensive player causes the offensive player to violate prior to the shot, Im thinking to blow the whistle immediately and report the foul. Then complete initial free throw, and administer additional free throw to offended offensive player (if A is in bonus). Correct?

2) If there is no violation, but enough contact to merit calling a defensive foul, should I hold the whistle to see if shot is good?

3) If the scenario is reversed, and the foul is on the offensive player, blow whistle immediately, and no shot?

1) Yup, prior to the shot the ball is dead immediately on the whistle. No one on the lanes for rest of the initial FT(s), but line 'em up for the FT's for the second foul.

2) Only if the shooter is in his motion when the defensive foul is committed. If before, see (1).

3) Yup. But if the FT was in the air when the foul was committed, you go with the result of the FT and don't re-shoot it. If the foul was committed before or during the FT attempt and before the ball is in the air, the ball is dead immediately. Re-shoot that FT sequence with no one lined up, and then penalize the foul by the offensive teammate--throw-in or FT's. If FT's, line 'em up along the lanes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1