The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in questions! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30976-throw-questions.html)

jritchie Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:14pm

Throw in questions!
 
A1 throw in from under basket:
1) Ball hits "bottom" of backboard first then comes in bounds, violation or not?
2) Ball deflects off of B1, then hits "bottom" of backboard, then comes in bounds, violation or not?

Had both last night and were discussing after the game. Just wondering!
I had no violation on both. Partner said violation on 1, but not 2.

eg-italy Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
A1 throw in from under basket:
1) Ball hits "bottom" of backboard first then comes in bounds, violation or not?
2) Ball deflects off of B1, then hits "bottom" of backboard, then comes in bounds, violation or not?

Had both last night and were discussing after the game. Just wondering!
I had no violation on both. Partner said violation on 1, but not 2.

Common sense tells me that if the bottom of the backboard is not OOB in situation 2, it is not OOB in situation 1 either.

Ciao

bob jenkins Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
A1 throw in from under basket:
1) Ball hits "bottom" of backboard first then comes in bounds, violation or not?
2) Ball deflects off of B1, then hits "bottom" of backboard, then comes in bounds, violation or not?

Had both last night and were discussing after the game. Just wondering!
I had no violation on both. Partner said violation on 1, but not 2.

By general interp, in 1) if the ball continues inbounds (that is, lands farther away from the endline), then it hit the bottom and not the back. Legal play. If the ball bounces back toward the endline, even if it lands inbounds, then it hit the back of the backboard and is OOB.

Same interp in 2), assuming B1 was between the backboard and the endline.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 17, 2007 04:14pm

Only the back of the backboard is out of bounds per 7-1-2.

eg-italy Wed Jan 17, 2007 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
By general interp, in 1) if the ball continues inbounds (that is, lands farther away from the endline), then it hit the bottom and not the back. Legal play. If the ball bounces back toward the endline, even if it lands inbounds, then it hit the back of the backboard and is OOB.

Same interp in 2), assuming B1 was between the backboard and the endline.

Is this really a general interpretation? :confused:

Camron Rust Wed Jan 17, 2007 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
Is this really a general interpretation? :confused:

It's not really an interpretation, it's physics.

A ball that hits the backboard that comes back towards the same side of the board as the thrower can only do so if it hits the surface that is facing the thrower.

Likewise, a ball that doesn't come back to the side of the board from which it was thrown can not have hit the surface that is facing the thrower.

So a ball thrown from anywhere behind the backboard that stays behind the backboard can only have hit the back of the backboard. And, a ball thrown from behind the backboard that does not stay behind the backboard must not have hit the back.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 17, 2007 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
Is this really a general interpretation? :confused:

Yes. The NFHS rulesmakers issued something to this effect years ago, advising officials to use the same criteria that Bob posted.

Time2Ref Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
A1 throw in from under basket:

Don't give the ball to the thrower if s/he is under the backboard. Make him/her move to one side or the other.

(Officials Manual. Page 29. 110. Throw-in Spot).

Camron Rust Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Time2Ref
Don't give the ball to the thrower if s/he is under the backboard. Make him/her move to one side or the other.

(Officials Manual. Page 29. 110. Throw-in Spot).

While you are correct, it is irrelavant. Even if the player is throwing the ball from a point ouside the lane, it is still possible to hit the back of the board if the pass is intended to go across the lane.

If it is after a made basket, the player may also make the throw in from anywhere they chose along the line and we will not stop them from doing so from directly behind the backboard.

jritchie Thu Jan 18, 2007 08:59am

Thanks for all the interps. I too had the same reasoning as Bob when trying to explain to my partner. They were both after made baskets, so moving them away from the board was not possible, due to them still running the end line.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1