The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:34pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Can someone get me the rule

Can someone be so kind as to give me the rule, including verbage, that deals with what we do after a double technical is called?
Thank you - I want to send it to someone word for word.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
Can someone be so kind as to give me the rule, including verbage, that deals with what we do after a double technical is called?
Thank you - I want to send it to someone word for word.
It's in rule 4, definitions, under Point of Interruption. Sorry, I don't have the books here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
SECTION 36 POINT OF INTERRUPTION

ART. 1 . . . Method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10.

ART. 2…Play shall be resumed by:

a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.

b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.

c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:46pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
SECTION 36 POINT OF INTERRUPTION

ART. 1 . . . Method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10.

ART. 2…Play shall be resumed by:

a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.

b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.

c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved.
Thank you!
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:47pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
One more thing. Before I send this email, can someone tell me what page 29, case # 4.19.8.E in the Case Book says?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Let me guess.

It's either about where the ball comes in, at the spot of the fouls or where the ball was, or POI v AP.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:55pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
Let me guess.

It's either about where the ball comes in, at the spot of the fouls or where the ball was, or POI v AP.
Player gets fouled (shooting foul). Two opposing players get all close and personal with each other after the foul and a double technical is called.

What do you have?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:45pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It's in rule 4, definitions, under Point of Interruption. Sorry, I don't have the books here.
Thanks, but I'm looking for the words too so I can cut and paste into an email.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
Thanks, but I'm looking for the words too so I can cut and paste into an email.
I knew you were, but thought I'd post that just in case someone had a book but didn't know know where to find it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
A1 has the ball in the front court...A5 and B5 are being stupid and get a double foul while: A) A1 is dribbling B) during a pass from A1 to A2 C) during an unsuccessful try.

Ruling A) and B) team control POI at the spot nearest to where the ball was C) no team control or team awarded control after made goal so POI is AP throw-in at spot where ball was at time of double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 03:02pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
A1 has the ball in the front court...A5 and B5 are being stupid and get a double foul while: A) A1 is dribbling B) during a pass from A1 to A2 C) during an unsuccessful try.

Ruling A) and B) team control POI at the spot nearest to where the ball was C) no team control or team awarded control after made goal so POI is AP throw-in at spot where ball was at time of double foul.
Is this that case play word for word? If so, it really says they are being stupid?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1