The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA rules quiz... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30961-ncaa-rules-quiz.html)

Raymond Wed Jan 17, 2007 09:16am

NCAA rules quiz...
 
Two quiz questions from my JuCo supervisor. According to our website I got these questions wrong.
  • A-1’s try for goal near the three-point line is successful. The official signals a three-point goal. As Team B is advancing the ball up the court, the coach from Team B is at the table requesting a conference with the official in order to rectify a correctable error. B-1 now tries for goal near the three-point line, and the official rules this a two-point try. Team B coach appeals both rulings. After reviewing the plays on the courtside monitor, it is determined that the coach is wrong on both appeals. The referee charges Team B with two timeouts. Is the official correct?
I used 5-11.22 & A.R. 130 to answer yes. Website uses 5-11.22 saying answer is no.
  • A-1’s throw-in is touched by B-1, who has one foot touching the boundary line.* The official rules this a throw-in violation and awards Team B the ball at the spot of the original throw-in.* Is the official correct?
I used 7-5.2 to answer yes. Website uses 7-2.2 & 9-5.1b to answer no.
edit: I now know why I got this question wrong

tomegun Wed Jan 17, 2007 09:32am

I will copy and paste my replies on that same quiz:

A-1’s try for goal near the three-point line is successful. The official signals a three-point goal. As Team B is advancing the ball up the court, the coach from Team B is at the table requesting a conference with the official in order to rectify a correctable error. B-1 now tries for goal near the three-point line, and the official rules this a two-point try. Team B coach appeals both rulings. After reviewing the plays on the courtside monitor, it is determined that the coach is wrong on both appeals. The referee charges Team B with two timeouts. Is the official correct? No rule 5 section 9 article 6 and rule 5 section 11 article 22 ar 130

A-1’s throw-in is touched by B-1, who has one foot touching the boundary line. The official rules this a throw-in violation and awards Team B the ball at the spot of the original throw-in. Is the official correct? No rule 7 section 2 article 2

For the fist question - I think of similar situations where a coach would question two things dealing with the book.
For the second question - B1 caused the ball to go out of bounds.

What would you do if a player threw the ball in and it touched you and you are out of bounds? Different, but I'm just wondering.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Two quiz questions from my JuCo supervisor. According to our website I got these questions wrong.
  • A-1’s throw-in is touched by B-1, who has one foot touching the boundary line.* The official rules this a throw-in violation and awards Team B the ball at the spot of the original throw-in.* Is the official correct?
I used 7-5.2 to answer yes. Website uses 7-2.2 & 9-5.1b to answer no.

Why would B ever get the ball after causing the ball to be OOB?

Scrapper1 Wed Jan 17, 2007 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Why would B ever get the ball after causing the ball to be OOB?

Because BNR probably thought the violation was on A1 for not throwing the pass directly onto the court before going OOB. Just a guess.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 17, 2007 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Because BNR probably thought the violation was on A1 for not throwing the pass directly onto the court before going OOB. Just a guess.

Understood, but my question is was to point out that such a conclusion just doesn't make any sense.

All_Heart Wed Jan 17, 2007 02:32pm

Maybe he miss read it. And thought the question said Team A gets the throw-in.

Raymond Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Why would B ever get the ball after causing the ball to be OOB?

Guess I know why I got that question wrong. :(

Why do these questions have to be so literal?

Thanks All Heart for sticking up for me :) ...Yes, I mis-read the question. :mad:

tomegun Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:37pm

Did you start on the new quiz yet?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1