The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 05:59am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Of course the crowd violently reacted negatively to the call and I immediately ran to him to give my partner some information.
What the crowd reaction got to do with it? You're making it seem like because of this reaction is what prompted you to act. Not good officiating to challenge you partners call based on this.

Quote:
My first thought was to go with an inadvertent whistle and give the ball back to the home team because the shooter had possession when my partner made the call.
Guaranteed, the opposing coach is not going to like that. Better get ready to throw a T his way.

Quote:
As I was talking to my partner I happened to look towards the table (I was table side on this play) and noticed that the home team had the arrow. Then I suggested that we just go with a jump ball because ultimately I feel this was an easy way out
I like this, excellent observation, you got lucky but this is the only way you can safely get out of this stitch.

Quote:
Well my two partners agreed with my suggestion and I turned around and gave the jump ball signal toward the table.
Here's where you errored. The original caller or the primary referee has to make this signal, not you.

Quote:
Now my question is would you do the same thing if you were in my situation. If you would not do the same thing as I did on this call, why would you not?
Overall, I'm split on this one. I like the fact that you went in and got the right call. However, I'm a little concerned about your involvement in this game and it's outcome. You are there to officiate the game, therefore, your partner made a call from his primary, you didn't agree with it and based on the crowd reaction, you went and changed it. Are you going to do this everytime your partner misses a call in their primary? Or are you going to only do this in the big games?

My problem here is referee's are not perfect, players are not perfect. We're going to get some calls right, we're going to get some calls wrong and the coaches know that. We got a call from the primary area of an official, travel, I the coach benefited from this call. You go and change it. As a coach, that reeks to me. That sends the message that you have a personal involment in the game that might be more than just officiating, even if you are right. Let the chips fall where they may. Now we come down on the other end and have a similar play/travel and it goes against me, hey, come in and change this one too! My concern would be in this area.

Discuss this in the postgame, you blew that call, be better for the next time this happens.

Quote:
Also would you have gone with the inadvertent whistle instead of the jump ball if you decided to give help?
Jump ball! Anything else and I begin to smell a rat. There's no I-W if your partner gave a traveling signal after blowing his whistle.

Isn't this fun being a referee?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It CAN happen anywhere U_of_I_Blue Softball 4 Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:32am
Could this happen? lukealex Basketball 22 Tue May 31, 2005 09:22am
this doesn't happen much ChrisSportsFan Basketball 5 Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:09pm
I let it happen again ranjo Basketball 3 Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:27am
Why does this happen to me? :) Mark Padgett Basketball 9 Mon Dec 27, 1999 01:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1