The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3084-out-bounds.html)

BMA Thu Oct 25, 2001 02:09pm

Let me add this to the thread,
The "opponent" did not cross over the endline (the ball came over the end line), he was about two-three feet back from the end line.

Now, would he still get a T if the kick happen again.

Dan_ref Thu Oct 25, 2001 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BMA
Let me add this to the thread,
The "opponent" did not cross over the endline (the ball came over the end line), he was about two-three feet back from the end line.

Now, would he still get a T if the kick happen again.

I'm sorry, maybe I missed something here? T for what? The
defender did not violate by going over the line (no?) so
there's no warning or T involved. He can continue to kick
the throw-in until he gets signed up by the Rockettes.

BMA Thu Oct 25, 2001 03:11pm

I ask about the "T", because some of the other replies to the thread started to talk about violations and throw-in spots and "if this happen, then that would happen, if that happen, then this should happen"

Which is one of the things I was told when I first started "don't read more into the questions than what was asked"

RecRef Thu Oct 25, 2001 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
[/B]

Now, that may not be a correct interpretation, but I think I've shown that it can reasonably be read a different way. So I agree with the point that it should be clarified.

Chuck [/B][/QUOTE]

Hmm, I can see your point on the interpretation. The only thing I can say in my defense is that we also looked at the Illustrated book and the two examples show the defender striking a ball that is being held.

May be time to rethink the situation, definitely past time for a rewrite of the rule.

Thanks

ChuckElias Thu Oct 25, 2001 09:58pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by RecRef
Quote:


May be time to rethink the situation, definitely past time for a rewrite of the rule.

It might not need a whole rewrite. Just give us a definitive casebook play where the thrower releases the ball for the throw-in and the defender reaches over the boundary and touches it.

Ruling: -----

That would settle it. That's all it would take. Why can't we get one official case on it? Sigh.

Chuck

Richard Ogg Fri Oct 26, 2001 11:40am

Through plane ... after ball is released.
 
OK, I'm writing without rulebook in hand. (Got to quit that!)

I believe the throwin ends when the ball is released so as to contact a participant and, if bounced, would bounce in bounds. Thus on the release ... defense reaches through plane ... defense contacts ball -- you simply have a live ball. If this was an A/P throwin then the A/P arrow changes. If the ball goes OOB, rule accordingly. If it stays inbounds, play on.

Given the above (which of course is not "a given") then the T is reserved for contacting the ball before released by the inbounder (aka thrower-upper or somethin' like that).

Mark Padgett Fri Oct 26, 2001 12:33pm

what I meant was.....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by RecRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett

Snip

For example - there still is no definitive rule or case that clears up, without any room for challenge, whether or not the restrictions on a defender reaching over the line on a throw-in end when the ball is released toward the court by the inbounder or whether the defender must wait until the ball crosses the line. We have been discussing this for years and the rules committee still has not clarified this, except for interpretations from recognized interpreters and a former member of the NF rules committee. However, there is no agreement even among them. This is a fairly simple case in which to clarify a rule.
Maybe this should be in a new thread but I can think of how the rule could be any plainer in its meaning.

7-6-3 The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.

This is repeated in 9-2-11, which covers the penalty phase.

[/B]
What I meant was if the defender reaches across after the release toward the court and touches the ball before it is over the court. Since the ball is out of the inbounders hand, I always felt this was not a violation or foul. However, Camron Rust once posted that he asked Howard Mayo, who at the time was on the NF rules committee, and that Howard said this was the same as touching the ball while it was still in the inbounders hand.

A clarification on this would be greatly appreciated.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 26, 2001 12:45pm

Re: what I meant was.....
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

However, Camron Rust once posted that he asked Howard Mayo, who at the time was on the NF rules committee, and that Howard said this was the same as touching the ball while it was still in the inbounders hand.
However, I contacted Dick Knox, Chairman of the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee and he said that it was not the same as touching the ball while still in the thrower's hand.

So, who knows?

Dan_ref Fri Oct 26, 2001 01:44pm

Re: Re: what I meant was.....
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

However, Camron Rust once posted that he asked Howard Mayo, who at the time was on the NF rules committee, and that Howard said this was the same as touching the ball while it was still in the inbounders hand.
However, I contacted Dick Knox, Chairman of the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee and he said that it was not the same as touching the ball while still in the thrower's hand.

So, who knows?
Beware! Falling names zone! Hard hat required for
admittance! :)

NF rules & NCAA rules differ. Under NCAA no member of the
defending team can touch the ball until it crosses the
inside plane of the sideline or endline. NFHS the ball
can be touched once it's released. Under either rules it
is a T to touch a ball passed between teammates when
the inbounding team can run the endline.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 26, 2001 03:08pm

Re: Re: Re: what I meant was.....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

Beware! Falling names zone! Hard hat required for
admittance! :)

Just goes to show that the big boys can't agree on this one either.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1