The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this a successive time-out? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30817-successive-time-out.html)

HawkeyeCubP Fri Jan 12, 2007 05:44pm

Is this a successive time-out?
 
Following the expiration of time for the first extra period and the score tied, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1. Following the attempt, (a) Team B or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.

RULING?

cmathews Fri Jan 12, 2007 06:04pm

legal
 
the ball became live for the throw

CoachP Fri Jan 12, 2007 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Following the expiration of time for the first extra period and the score tied, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1. Following the attempt, (a) Team B or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.

RULING?

Hey! I think I may know this one!!! Nail me if I don't!:D

No 2nd time out allowed...(I believe...!) I don't think you are allowed successive T.O's in overtime. No book handy for a rule ref, though.

Camron Rust Fri Jan 12, 2007 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
Hey! I think I may know this one!!! Nail me if I don't!:D

No 2nd time out allowed...(I believe...!) I don't think you are allowed successive T.O's in overtime. No book handy for a rule ref, though.

Not allowed after time expires for the preceding period and before the OT begins. But, the OT begins on the FT. Timeout should be allowed.

HawkeyeCubP Fri Jan 12, 2007 08:30pm

CoachP - CMat and Camron are correct, I believe. By the rule, the extra period has begun when the ball becomes live (at the disposal of the free thrower) for the first techincal foul free throw, therefore, allow the time-out, as it's not violating 5-12-3.

Just thought it was an interesting question.

lorenj Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Following the expiration of time for the first extra period and the score tied, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1. Following the attempt, (a) Team B or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.

RULING?

The second time-out request should be denied in both a and b. Rule 4-43-2 states that a successive time-out is "one which is granted to either team before the clock has started following the previous time-out." Since the clock hasn't been started yet, the second time-out would be successive and should not be allowed.

HawkeyeCubP Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by lorenj
The second time-out request should be denied in both a and b. Rule 4-43-2 states that a successive time-out is "one which is granted to either team before the clock has started following the previous time-out." Since the clock hasn't been started yet, the second time-out would be successive and should not be allowed.

Hmmmmmmmm...

lorenj Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Hmmmmmmmm...

This is 5.12.3 Situation B in the casebook. Whether or not the ball became live between the two requests has no bearing on the ruling.

cmathews Sat Jan 13, 2007 01:21am

I stand corrected....

HawkeyeCubP Sun Jan 14, 2007 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lorenj
This is 5.12.3 Situation B in the casebook. Whether or not the ball became live between the two requests has no bearing on the ruling.

Thanks LorenJ.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1