The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What the heck do you call???? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30812-what-heck-do-you-call.html)

kycat1 Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:07pm

What the heck do you call????
 
:confused: You make the call (this actually happened in a state tournament game)!

Team A down by 1 point with 5 seconds in the game. Both teams in the bonus. OOB throw end on sideline in A’s backcourt after time out. A1 throws to A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.
B1, thinking A2 is about to score, jumps up to block the shot and fouls A2 after the ball leaves A2 hands but before the horn goes off to end the game. Then the ball goes through the basket after the horn.
Yes, all of this happened within the last 5 seconds of the game. Both coaches, all players and all fans are screaming excitedly.
What do you call? :confused:
You have just a few seconds to get your crew together and decide. No rule books on the floor.
I'll post the crews correct decision next Monday!:D

jcarter Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:13pm

Ill take a stab,

Basket counts towords B score, then go and A is shooting for the bounus 1 and 1 or 2 depending on if they were in bounus or double bonus.


That is my guess, but i will look it up when i get home.

Adam Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:15pm

It's easy. No need to wait until Monday. Since the last shot was not a legitimate shot attempt (at the wrong basket), the ball becomes dead at the horn. B does not get the points for the shot.
A2 gets bonus free throws at the other end.

This year, if one of the officials sees time on the clock at the whistle, then you can count the basket and put that time back on. A2 still gets bonus free throws at the other end.

Raymond Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:18pm

It's definitely no basket.

2 things preventing the basket from counting.
  • The foul
  • The horn

This is basic rules knowlege. This was not a shot attempt so the horn and/or foul make the ball dead.

Adam Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:19pm

Doh! I forgot about the foul making the ball dead. So, while you might be able to put time back on, you cannot count this basket. Doh!

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
Team A down by 1 point with 5 seconds in the game. Both teams in the bonus.
A1 throws to A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.
B1, thinking A2 is about to score, jumps up to block the shot and fouls A2 after the ball leaves A2 hands but before the horn goes off to end the game. Then the ball goes through the basket after the horn.


No basket because it's not a "try". A2 shoots either 1/1 or 2 shots, depending on <b>what</b> bonus they are in(we aren't told). If A2 makes 1 FT, the game goes to OT. If A2 makes 2 FT's, the game is over. Case book play 4.41.2.

budjones05 Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Doh! I forgot about the foul making the ball dead. So, while you might be able to put time back on, you cannot count this basket. Doh!

You can only put time on if you know how much has elaspe

FishinRef Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:29pm

I agree with Snaq & Jurassic.

No basket for Team B - A's shot was not a legitimate shot attempt.
Ball is dead immediately after the foul.
Team A will shoot 1/1 or 2 depending on the foul count.
Clock may be reset if officials had definite knowledge of the exact time when the foul was called.

Adam Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by budjones05
You can only put time on if you know how much has elaspe

Which is what I said on my first post. ;)

Dan_ref Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:41pm

kycat1, ya better bring your A game when you try to get one by this crew!

:D

kycat1 Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:42pm

All good answers, but none correct yet!:D

Raymond Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
All good answers, but none correct yet!:D

Oh, they were correct, they just might not match what the crew in question did.

FrankHtown Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:46pm

Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.

mick Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
:confused: You make the call (this actually happened in a state tournament game)!

... A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.

Violation - Dribble rule 9.5 Situation

Jesse James Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:47pm

Absence of material fact
 
It's over and back if A caught the ball in their frontcourt, and proceeded to dribble towards B's hoop. But I really hope you just didn't omit that part of the story. Otherwise, I agree with what's previously been posted.

Adam Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:49pm

Sure, you should call the double dribble, but you better do it right away. From the sounds of it, the crew missed the illegal dribble; or at least called it late.
If you miss the double dribble, you need to call the foul.

Raymond Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:49pm

In this situation it's quite possible that the crew did not blow a whistle for a foul deeming their was no advantage gained.

Or maybe they ran in the locker and started a fight with officials from a later game over whether or not officials should be allowed to officiate games involving their alma maters.


OR WHAT MICK SAID. :D

cmckenna Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:51pm

So why wait.
 
Just post what they did now instead of waiting till Monday. I can tell you based on rule that ALL of the above responses are correct.

Since it was not a legitimate attempt, no basket, just a common foul and shooting 1 at the other end if 1/1 or 2 if dbl. Why does the OP think it is so difficult??? You have to shoot the shots because it will have a potential impact on the outcome....

tomegun Fri Jan 12, 2007 03:52pm

Grail, either I missed something or you missed something. Wasn't A the offensive team?

kycat1 Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:09pm

Okay I couldn’t wait until Monday!:)

Ding, ding, ding!!!

All give Frank an ATABOY!:D

Yes the lead (or trail since the ball should have been going the other way) called a double dribble since A2 stopped her dribble, threw the ball off of her own backboard and then grabbed the ball which is double dribbling! No foul, no basket. All action after the double dribble was ignored since no flagrant action by B1.
Ball OOB to Team B under the basket with about 1 second to go!

(Yes, I must admit I missed this too when the ref asked me about this play!)

This is a great case play that makes you think though!

mplagrow Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:10pm

Yes, it should have been a double dribble, but. . . .I don't think I would go back for that call after all the other action occurred. That should have been blown dead there, or not at all.

Old School Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.

According to the post, she dribble, shot, and got her own rebound, then shot again. It didn't say she dribble again and shot. Not a double dribble but maybe traveling with the ball, because you can't pass the ball to yourself. Traveling violation stops the clock, no foul ever occurred. Team B ball underneath. Owe, unless foul is flagrant or intentional, fouls after the ball is dead is ignored.

Ed Maeder Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:28pm

If they whistled the play dead when the ball hit the backboard good call, but if they waited until all other action occured it was too late to go back to the double dribble. Here we go again! Putting the ball against the opponents backboard is the start of a dribble.

BEAREF Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
According to the post, she dribble, shot, and got her own rebound, then shot again. It didn't say she dribble again and shot. Not a double dribble but maybe traveling with the ball, because you can't pass the ball to yourself. Traveling violation stops the clock, no foul ever occurred. Team B ball underneath. Owe, unless foul is flagrant or intentional, fouls after the ball is dead is ignored.

A2 does not need to dribble again...

9.5 Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official and catches the rebound.
Ruling: A1 has violated. Throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-15-2; Fundamental 19)

mplagrow Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
According to the post, she dribble, shot, and got her own rebound, then shot again. It didn't say she dribble again and shot. Not a double dribble but maybe traveling with the ball, because you can't pass the ball to yourself. Traveling violation stops the clock, no foul ever occurred. Team B ball underneath. Owe, unless foul is flagrant or intentional, fouls after the ball is dead is ignored.

OS, read your rulebook, Violation - Dribble rule 9.5 Situation

It counts as a dribble if you bounce the ball off the board. Dribble one on the floor, dribble two on the backboard. I don't know how in the world you get a traveling.

Adam Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder
If they whistled the play dead when the ball hit the backboard good call, but if they waited until all other action occured it was too late to go back to the double dribble.

Wait til A2 catches the ball after it hits the backboard in this instance; otherwise, I agree.

Ed Maeder Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Wait til A2 catches the ball after it hits the backboard in this instance; otherwise, I agree.

Thanks Snaqwells, I concur

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.

Aaaaargh!

Good catch.

rainmaker Fri Jan 12, 2007 06:24pm

From the OP, it sounds possible that even if the ref did call the double dribble as soon as he saw it, all the rest of the action could have happened, it may not have been too late.

Also, the OP doesn't say whether the ball did or didn't go into B's basket before the horn. It says the foul was after the shot before the horn. Because of the double dribble, it doesn't matter. But suppose the double dribble hadn't happend, such as if A3 had grabbed the "rebound" and shot and been fouled by B. Then if the ball went in before the horn, it would count, even though the foul wouldn't be on the shot. How's that for confusing?

Okay, now I'm going to go pay my bills, wash my dishes and do my game.

have a nice weekend.

lorenj Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James
It's over and back if A caught the ball in their frontcourt, and proceeded to dribble towards B's hoop. But I really hope you just didn't omit that part of the story. Otherwise, I agree with what's previously been posted.

The throw-in was on the sideline in A's backcourt, so it is unlikely that A2 caught the ball in the frontcourt. Since, the original post didn't specify, we can assume the ball was caught in the backcourt and no backcourt violation occured.

Adam Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Also, the OP doesn't say whether the ball did or didn't go into B's basket before the horn. It says the foul was after the shot before the horn. Because of the double dribble, it doesn't matter. But suppose the double dribble hadn't happend, such as if A3 had grabbed the "rebound" and shot and been fouled by B. Then if the ball went in before the horn, it would count, even though the foul wouldn't be on the shot. How's that for confusing?

Juulie,
The foul makes the ball dead, so even if the clock stopped in time, or if the ball went in before the horn, there's no points because of the foul.

jmaellis Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
:confused: You make the call (this actually happened in a state tournament game)!

Team A down by 1 point with 5 seconds in the game. Both teams in the bonus. OOB throw end on sideline in A’s backcourt after time out. A1 throws to A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.
B1, thinking A2 is about to score, jumps up to block the shot and fouls A2 after the ball leaves A2 hands but before the horn goes off to end the game. Then the ball goes through the basket after the horn.
Yes, all of this happened within the last 5 seconds of the game. Both coaches, all players and all fans are screaming excitedly.
What do you call? :confused:
You have just a few seconds to get your crew together and decide. No rule books on the floor.
I'll post the crews correct decision next Monday!:D

Several of the replies to this thread indicate that the second shot was "not a legitimate shot attempt." Will someone take a few moments to explain to me why the shot attempt is not legitimate. It seems to me, based on the OP "A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again..." that A2 was trying to make a basket (albeit in the wrong hoop). So I don't understand why the shot attempt was not legitimate.

Thanks for the help.

Back In The Saddle Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
Several of the replies to this thread indicate that the second shot was "not a legitimate shot attempt." Will someone take a few moments to explain to me why the shot attempt is not legitimate. It seems to me, based on the OP "A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again..." that A2 was trying to make a basket (albeit in the wrong hoop). So I don't understand why the shot attempt was not legitimate.

Thanks for the help.

It has to do with the definition of a try:

Rule 4 - SECTION 41 SHOOTING, TRY, TAP
ART. 2 . . . A try for field goal is an attempt by a player to score two or three points by throwing the ball into a team's own basket. A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal. It is not essential that the ball leave the player's hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

While it's true that two points would be scored for B if A1 successfully put the ball into their basket, it is not, by definition, a try. Since it is not a try, several common rules don't apply, like the ball remaining alive after a foul on the shooter, continuous motion, and even a three point goal.

That make sense?

jmaellis Tue Jan 23, 2007 02:41am

BITS, that helps, thanks.

I'm thinking through why a goal made in the wrong basket from behind the 3 point line wouldn't count for three points, since an illegitimate shot inside the 3 point arc counts for two. Is it because in order for the three to count it has to be a legitimate try?

Back In The Saddle Tue Jan 23, 2007 03:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
BITS, that helps, thanks.

I'm thinking through why a goal made in the wrong basket from behind the 3 point line wouldn't count for three points, since an illegitimate shot inside the 3 point arc counts for two. Is it because in order for the three to count it has to be a legitimate try?

ART. 1 . . . A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-4.

jmaellis Tue Jan 23, 2007 03:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
ART. 1 . . . A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-4.

Thanks, I appreciat the response.

Damian Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:33pm

Double dribble?
 
If A2 dribbled down to the wrong goal to shoot, then shoots at the wrong goal and hits the backboard or rim, then catches the ball, thats a double dribble. This happens before any of the other stuff.

If A2 did not dribble, but took a jump shot at the wrong goal, then caught it, that would be a travel.

Jimgolf Tue Jan 23, 2007 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Damian

This might be the first time someone's actually misspelled their own name on this forum!

swkansasref33 Tue Jan 23, 2007 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.

Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?:confused:

Camron Rust Tue Jan 23, 2007 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?:confused:

Irrelavant. By definition it is not even a shot since it is at the wrong basket. Player catches ball after dribbling, throws the ball up in the air towards the opponents goal (may or may not hit the backboard or rim) then catches the ball. You've got one of two things: a travel (if it didn't hit anything) or an illegal dribble (if it did hit).

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 23, 2007 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?:confused:

Illegal dribble as soon as A1 caught the rebound of the missed 3. Read case book play 4.15.4SitC(a).

swkansasref33 Tue Jan 23, 2007 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Illegal dribble as soon as A1 caught the rebound of the missed 3. Read case book play 4.15.4SitC(a).

thanks.. ill get on it

jmaellis Wed Jan 24, 2007 01:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Illegal dribble as soon as A1 caught the rebound of the missed 3. Read case book play 4.15.4SitC(a).

Does it matter if the shot at the opponents basket does not hit the backboard, and only hits the rim? A1 shoots at the opponent's basket, the shot rebounds off of the edge of the rim and is caught by A1. I'm asking because the rule only mentions the backboard.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 24, 2007 06:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
Does it matter if the <font color = red>shot</font> at the opponents basket does not hit the backboard, and only hits the rim?

No, because it's not a "shot". It's considered a "dribble".

Camron Rust Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No, because it's not a "shot". It's considered a "dribble".

Except that his point was to ask whether its a dribble if it doesn't hit the backboard but only the rim (or perhaps nothing at all....an airball). Is the rim considered part of the backboard for the purposes of this rule or is the rim simply another object floating in space? If the latter (or it was an airball), you can't have illegal dribble but you could have traveling.

rainmaker Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Except that his point was to ask whether its a dribble if it doesn't hit the backboard but only the rim (or perhaps nothing at all....an airball). Is the rim considered part of the backboard for the purposes of this rule or is the rim simply another object floating in space? If the latter (or it was an airball), you can't have illegal dribble but you could have traveling.

In this case, who cares? Wrong signal, maybe, same result.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1