The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Too late to go back (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30707-too-late-go-back.html)

Ed Maeder Mon Jan 08, 2007 04:35pm

Too late to go back
 
Was watching a game the other night and this situation happened. Would like some other takes on what should have been done. Team A had in-bounded the ball after a made basket. They requested a time out as soon as they had player control after the throw-in was complete. There was 4.1 seconds on the clock at the time out. After the time out they used the play to throw the ball to another player across the key who was also out of bounds. This is where it gets interesting. The throw-in violation was not called and the ball was allowed to be in-bounded. A2 was fouled as soon as they received the pass. When the foul was called the official that was with the in-bound play ran over and told his partner that they had a spot throw-in and that they couldn't run the play they had just done. My take is this is not a correctable error and it was too late to fix the mistake after the clock had started. They allowed the violation to be called and put the time back on the clock and gave the ball to the other team. What would you have done?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 08, 2007 04:41pm

After the ball touches an in-bounds player on the throw-in, it's too late to change anything. The foul committed on A2 stands as well as whatever time was run off the clock before the foul.

181174 Mon Jan 08, 2007 05:17pm

Just wondering, now after a made basket, the ball comes into play and there is a defensive foul, no bonus situation yet, does the offensive team have the ability to run the endline if needed or is this a deadball situation? On the play that was mentioned this is not a correctable error and the foul should have counted. It was a deadball spot throw-in but since the offense was allowed to run the endline the play can't be corrected.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 08, 2007 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
Just wondering, now after a made basket, the ball comes into play and there is a defensive foul, no bonus situation yet, does the offensive team have the ability to run the endline if needed or is this a deadball situation?

Spot throw-in.

Rule 7-5-5 and 7-5-7.

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 09, 2007 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
now after a made basket, the ball comes into play and there is a defensive foul. . .

If the throw-in is completed before the defensive foul occurs (which sounds like what you're asking), then the ensuing throw-in is from a designated spot. Just to be clear, though, if the foul occurs after the ball has become live but before the throw-in is completed, then the offensive team retains the privilege of running the endline.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1