The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Great Game - "Odd" Calls (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30651-great-game-odd-calls.html)

BillyMac Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:36pm

Great Game - "Odd" Calls
 
I just got home from officiating a great boys varsity game tonight. Big crowd. Loud cheerleaders representing both teams. Two very good teams. Great partner. Good table officials. Challenging but respectful coaches. Players that just wanted to play and didn't whine about calls. What was "odd" about the game was we had some real "weird" calls:

1) Two teamates collide on an throw in play. Head to head contact. Both removed from the game due to blood. After being bandaged, one had to be removed a second time due to continued bleeding. I've only had one player removed from a high school game due to blood since the rule first first came into effect. My partner never had one. Tonight we had two.

2) My partner called a violation for an offensive player deliberately going out of bounds to gain an advantage. I've never called this violation. This was a first for my partner.

3) I called a violation for excessivly swinging elbows (no contact). I used to call this a few times a season many years ago when it was only a violation. When the penalty changed to a technical foul, I never called it, because I thought the penalty was too severe. Since it has changed back to a violation, I hadn't called it until tonight.

4) I called an intentional foul for a defensive player grabbing opponent #12's jersey. No big deal until #12 makes his foul shots, at which point the scorekeeper, as well as the visiting scorekeeper, inform me that there is no #12 in either book. Team technical foul. Two technical foul shots and the ball for the team that originally committed the intentional foul.

I've never had so many "odd" calls in a high school game before. Just thought I'd share my experience with the Forum.

refnrev Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:48pm

Yep, this was a weird one. Does CT still use a 2 whistle crew for V boys games?

K-Bach Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:21am

I'd like to add my own weird call.

Varsity boys, tournament semi-final, nearly 19 minutes remaining in the first half:

I'm lead when team A shoots a long jumper. In the key, A5 and B5 bump as they seek rebound position; they bump again (no advantage); shot is good. The score is now 2-0. B5 grabs the ball and starts a quick break. As the ball nears half-court, A5 and B5 simultaneously (yes, at the same time) grab each other by the throat, first whistle of the game. It was my first, hopefully my last, double flagrant. Both players DQ'd with no further problems. Coach B, lectures his player from the bench to the hall about selfishness. Coach A wants to know why I didn't give the players a warning, rather than an automatic DQ. I remind him that fighting is an automatic DQ, no warning. He quietly suggests that a warning would suffice. I gently provide him with that warning and inform my partner who's now choking on his whistle in an attempt to suppress his smile.

The rest of the game was competitive (three point game), but we called another 64 fouls and three more players from each team fouled out.

My partner was still smiling at the end of the game, as was I.

Adam Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:34am

A5 and B5 must have had some history. Probably fighting over a girl.

MN BB Ref Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by K-Bach
I'd like to add my own weird call.

Varsity boys, tournament semi-final, nearly 19 minutes remaining in the first half:

Where do you play HS tournaments that consist of halves in excess of 19 minutes? WOW...and I thought Minnesota was bad with our 18 minute halves.:confused:

refnrev Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:38am

Good question. That's a college length half.

Johnny Ringo Sat Jan 06, 2007 02:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
No big deal until #12 makes his foul shots, at which point the scorekeeper, as well as the visiting scorekeeper, inform me that there is no #12 in either book. Team technical foul. Two technical foul shots and the ball for the team that originally committed the intentional foul.

I asume the answer is yes, but want to make sure. The free throws by No. 12 do count?

And two halves in high school ball. Have never even heard of that????

Camron Rust Sat Jan 06, 2007 03:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
I asume the answer is yes, but want to make sure. The free throws by No. 12 do count?

Yes, the FT's count.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 06, 2007 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
Loud cheerleaders representing both teams.

That's unusual. Around here, the cheerleaders represent one team or the other (and there are some competitive cheer squads that do not represent any team), but not both.

JugglingReferee Sat Jan 06, 2007 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
I asume the answer is yes, but want to make sure. The free throws by No. 12 do count?

And two halves in high school ball. Have never even heard of that????

I have never done a game that didn't have two halves. Same in football. Every pizza I've ever ordered has had two halves. Same with apples and oranges - I have two halves. Then I compare them. Doesn't everything have two halves???

Come to think of it, the only time I dealt with one half was when I once dug half a hole.

K-Bach Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MN BB Ref
Where do you play HS tournaments that consist of halves in excess of 19 minutes? WOW...and I thought Minnesota was bad with our 18 minute halves.:confused:

I'm in Alberta. We use NCAA rules and NFHS mechanics for high school, until next year (back to FIBA).

TimTaylor Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:11am

I had one not long ago - one of those classic case book situations you don't see all that often.

Freshman boys game, I'm the trail. A1 launches a high looping shot from just inside the arc, clearly returns to the floor, is then fouled by B1 before shot goes in. I had the whole sequence clearly & there was absolutely no question on the timing. I blow the whistle, count the basket, common foul on B1, and since they're not yet in the penalty ball OOB to A. I figured on having to explain it to the coaches, but was a little surprised I had to explain it to my partner...........

Raymond Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:31am

This season, X-mas Tourney, BV:

A is winning by 5-6 points. Beginning of 4th, absolutely no pressure by Team B. A1 inbounds to A2 in the b/c inside the circle. A2 holds for a couple seconds then passes back to A1 who is in the backcourt. A1 holds for a few seconds while A2 is yelling out instructions to set up a play. A1 passes back to A2 who hasn't moved. While holding the ball A2 starts doing hand jestures to his teammates who apparently still have gotten into the correct offensive set. My counts gets to '9' and I look back at the clock and it's already down to 7:49. I get to '10' and I immediately blow the 10-second violation.

So I had a 10-second violation b/c 2 players sat and passed the ball back and forth for 10 seconds (apparently 12 seconds, in fact) while less that 3-feet from the division line.

mplagrow Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
This season, X-mas Tourney, BV:

A is winning by 5-6 points. Beginning of 4th, absolutely no pressure by Team B. A1 inbounds to A2 in the b/c inside the circle. A2 holds for a couple seconds then passes back to A1 who is in the backcourt. A1 holds for a few seconds while A2 is yelling out instructions for to set up a play. A1 passes back to A2 who hasn't moved. While holding the ball A2 starts doing hand jestures to his teammates who apparently still have gotten into the correct offensive set. My counts gets to '9' and I look back at the clock and it's already down to 7:49. I get to '10' and I immediately blow the 10-second violation.

So I had a 10-second violation b/c 2 players sat and passed the ball back and forth for 10 seconds while less that 3-feet from the division line.

What level ball was that? I mean, what level was it supposedly?

Raymond Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
What level ball was that? I mean, what level was it supposedly?

It was Boys Varsity. Large (but average talent) private school vs. AAA (largest public classification) school that usually finishes at the bottom of its conference. Just a combination of overly conservative coaching by the private school which I don't think expected to be winning and a brain-fart by the 2 players.

It was a very good game in fact.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1