![]() |
Two injuries; two timeouts
Just need a clarification: If two players become injured, require attending to by somebody from the bench, and, as required by rule, both teams burn a timeout to keep their players in the game...do the timeouts run concurrently, or consecutively?
|
Can't find reference in the book but I seem to remember being told concurrent. Makes sense, otherwise they have two minutes to correct the situation. They must also sub before the time out is granted to one team if they choose not to use one.
|
Concurrently. I will try to find a rules reference, but I am sure someone else will beat me to it.
Try this . . . Players A1 and B1 are both injured on a play. Team A Coach requests a TO so his player can re-enter the game. Team B Coach does not. 15-second warning comes and goes. Team A is ready to play. Team B is ready to play, but player B1 is on the court. The official tells the Coach that B1 must come off as he/she was an injured player. Coach say, "there was a TO." Official says YOU have to request a TO for YOUR player to stay in the game. Team B Coach says, "Timeout." 1) Do you grant the TO? 2) Do you let player B1 re-enter at the conclusion of Team B's TO? |
Quote:
|
BITS, I agree, but what would you do if it gets to the situation I described. Just curious of the responses. And I have been in this situation before, so I am wondering how others would or did handle it.
|
3.3.6 explains the timeout situation. It deals with blood, however, it fits.
|
Quote:
|
Thanks Snaq. I wouldn't mess that one up this season, but last season . . . well . . . thank goodness its this season.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50pm. |